Drifting in Tohoku (2026): Four Tracks Beyond Ebisu
The Rundown
- Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) is not the only answer in Tohoku. Three more venues put four-wheel drift running on their own published price lists: Southern Circuit in Miyagi from ¥5,500 a weekday, Kyowa Kart Land in Akita at ¥6,000 a day, and Motorland SP in Aomori at ¥8,800 a weekday for a visitor.
- Southern Circuit (Miyagi) is the Sendai answer and it is cheap: ¥5,500 for a full weekday on the four-wheel drift/grip ticket, ¥4,000 for the weekend afternoon slot, with a drift school on one Saturday a month — 12 September 2026 is on its own calendar.
- Yamagata and Iwate have nothing. Kart Soleil Mogamigawa, the biggest circuit in Yamagata at 1,063 m, takes rental karts, owner karts and mini-bikes under 150 cc — cars appear nowhere on its price list.
- Sportsland SUGO (Miyagi) sells no drift running. A visitor pays ¥12,000 for a 25-minute grip sports-running session under the tariff in force from 1 March 2026, and the only drift on its 2026 calendar is Formula Drift Japan Round 4 on 10–12 July 2026, as a spectator.
- Not one of the seven venues has a bus you can actually use for a drift day. Motorland SP has a stop 4 minutes' walk away costing ¥100 — and its last departure is 13:00, before the afternoon session starts.
Contents
Drifting in Tohoku — checked 5 September 2026
If you are based in Sendai or Fukushima and want to drift somewhere other than Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima), you have three real options, spread across three prefectures: Southern Circuit in Murata, Miyagi, at ¥5,500 for a full weekday; Kyowa Kart Land in Daisen, Akita, at ¥6,000 a day; and Motorland SP in Nanbu, Aomori, at ¥8,800 for a visitor’s weekday. Every fee, opening time and bus departure below was read off the official pages on 5 September 2026. Two of Tohoku’s six prefectures — Yamagata and Iwate — sell no four-wheel drift running at all, and nor does the region’s most famous circuit, Sportsland SUGO.
Which Tohoku venues actually sell drift running?
Seven venues, one question at each: can the public buy a drift session, and at what price.
| Venue | Where | Drift? | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ebisu Circuit | Nihonmatsu, Fukushima | Yes — a standing drift day pass | ¥8,500 Course 4 / ¥10,000 Course 5; ¥5,500 winter (1 Dec–31 Mar). Closed Wednesdays |
| Southern Circuit | Murata, Miyagi | Yes — “four-wheel (drift / grip)” on the price list | ¥5,500 weekday, ¥3,500 half, ¥4,000 weekend afternoon; +¥1,000 non-members |
| Kyowa Kart Land | Daisen, Akita | Yes — four-wheel slot = grip, gymkhana, drift | ¥6,000 a day, ¥5,000 half, insurance included; ¥1,000 registration once a year |
| Motorland SP | Nanbu, Aomori | Yes — dedicated drift free running, AM and PM | ¥8,800 weekday / ¥10,800 weekend as a visitor; ¥6,700 / ¥8,800 for members |
| LINK Circuit | Fukushima City | Free running yes, drift not stated — drift appears only in the hire terms | ¥6,000 weekday, ¥8,500 weekend; taster 6 laps ¥1,500 |
| Sportsland SUGO | Murata, Miyagi | No — grip sports running only | ¥12,000 per 25-min session as a visitor, from 1 March 2026, + ¥1,500 facility fee |
| Kart Soleil Mogamigawa | Shonai, Yamagata | No — karts and mini-bikes under 150 cc | Not applicable to cars |
Fukushima has two, Miyagi one yes and one no, Akita and Aomori one each, and the last two prefectures none.
What does a drift day cost outside Ebisu?
Southern Circuit is the Sendai answer. It sits at Sugo Hasegoya in Murata — 50 minutes from central Sendai by car, 23 from the Sendai-Minami or Murata interchange — and its price list carries one four-wheel line covering drift and grip together: ¥3,500 a half day, ¥5,500 a full weekday, ¥1,000 more without its licence. Weekends are a flat ¥4,000, but read the clock: from April to October, Saturday and Sunday mornings belong to bikes and karts, and cars run 13:30 to 17:00 only. Weekdays are one 9:30-to-16:00 block open to everything, there is no regular closing day, and reception shuts 30 minutes before you run.
It also runs a drift school one Saturday afternoon a month, ¥5,500 for members and ¥6,500 without, with beginner and step-up classes and walk-ups if there is room. The date list on the school page is the 2024 season, so treat 2026 dates as unconfirmed — but the live calendar names Saturday 12 September 2026 as a school afternoon and Sunday 20 September 2026 as a full course hire for the Southern ALLSTAR festival. The ¥8,500 annual licence is a discount, not a gate.
Kyowa Kart Land is the cheapest all-in day in the region. Despite the name, Akita’s 764 m circuit runs a four-wheel slot its own schedule defines as drift, grip and gymkhana on 20-minute rotations, ¥6,000 for the day with insurance included. The catch is the calendar: four-wheel days alternate with bike-and-kart days, and the venue closes for the winter — its 2026 season notice gives 12 April as the opening. Gates run 08:30 to 16:30.
Motorland SP is the surprise. In Nanbu, Aomori, on a 1,200 m course split into an 800 m north loop and a 500 m south loop, it advertises drift free running 9:00–12:20 and 13:30–17:30, on the north course normally and the full course once three or more cars are out. Visitor rates: ¥5,700 a weekday morning, ¥8,800 a full weekday, ¥10,800 at weekends, with a year’s membership at ¥10,800 dropping the full weekday to ¥6,700. An extra driver is ¥2,500, a passenger seat ¥500, a day of figure-eights on the car-park skidpad ¥2,500. Running is reservation-only, opening two weeks ahead and taken first-come by category — if someone has booked the day for bikes, you cannot drift on it.
What a Tohoku drift day assumes you already have
- Your own dorisha (ドリ車, a drift car). None of the four rents you one; at Ebisu the rental fleets belong to independent operators
- A helmet covering your ears. Motorland SP takes jet or full-face with a visor, refuses half-caps, and requires one for the passenger too
- Cash in yen and a number to call. Southern Circuit's web enquiry form is switched off, with a note telling you to email instead
- A date that is not winter. Kyowa Kart Land and Kart Soleil close for the season, LINK Circuit shuts for January and February, and Motorland SP runs "as long as there is no snow"
Why do Yamagata and Iwate come up empty?
Yamagata’s answer is specific rather than an absence of circuits. Kart Soleil Mogamigawa in Shonai Town is a serious facility — 1,063 m, the largest kart course in Tohoku — and every line on its price list is a kart or a bike: rental sport karts ¥1,300 for about five minutes, owner karts ¥4,100 a day against a kart licence, mini-bikes to 150 cc ¥1,700 an hour. Cars are not a category. It closes Tuesday to Thursday and from December to March. If you searched “Yamagata drift experience” and landed here, the nearest drift is over the prefecture border.
Iwate is emptier still. Searching on 5 September 2026 we found no Iwate circuit publishing four-wheel drift running on an official page, and the standing Japanese directory of tracks that permit four-wheel grip or drift free running lists none there either.
Can you reach any of them without a car?
| Venue | What actually exists on the ground |
|---|---|
| Ebisu Circuit | The only usable public route: a local bus from JR Nihonmatsu towards the safari park gate — see our Tokyo-to-Ebisu access guide |
| Southern Circuit | Public transport listed as “none”; the shortest route named is a taxi from JR Minami-Sendai Station or Tomizawa subway station |
| Motorland SP | The Nanbu Cheri Bus Gomiwatari line stops at Kitayama, 4 minutes’ walk from the gate, flat ¥100. Read the warning below first |
| Kyowa Kart Land | An address, a telephone number and a map image; no station, bus or taxi route named — TBC as of 5 September 2026 |
| LINK Circuit | Driving directions only, from Fukushima-Iizaka IC via Route 13 and the Fruit Line |
| Kart Soleil Mogamigawa | Ten minutes by car from JR Amarume Station — academic, since no car runs there |
There is a ¥100 bus stop four minutes from Motorland SP's gate. It cannot get you to a session
Nanbu Town's own timetable for the Gomiwatari line shows buses leaving Kitayama at 9:08 and 13:00 and arriving back at 12:47 and 17:20, on weekdays and at weekends alike. The morning session starts at 9:00, before the first departure has left; the afternoon session starts at 13:30, forty minutes after the last bus out. The one stop in Japan this close to a drift circuit is timetabled for schoolchildren.
Every venue here ends the same way: no bus, and a landline in Japanese
Southern Circuit answers the public-transport question on its own access page with one word — none — and its web enquiry form has been switched off, leaving an email address and a telephone number. Motorland SP wants a reservation two weeks out, by phone or a Japanese web form, and its bus stop cannot deliver you to either session. Kyowa Kart Land publishes no route to its gate at all. Send us your travel window and the prefecture you want to run in and we take that leg on: we confirm the date is genuinely a four-wheel day, settle the fee, the licence question and the kit list in English, and arrange the run from the station to the paddock and back. See what a Tohoku drift day looks like when we arrange it.
Where does Sportsland SUGO fit if it sells no drift?
Sportsland SUGO is the region’s proper circuit, a 3,737 m venue in the same Murata hills as Southern Circuit, and English writing about Tohoku keeps pointing at it. What it sells the public is grip sports running in 25-minute sessions: ¥12,000 for a visitor under the tariff in force from 1 March 2026, ¥6,000 for an SSCM member, plus ¥1,500 facility fee for your first session of the day. The 4C class takes plated road cars on an ordinary driving licence, and drifting appears nowhere in what it offers. It shows up once on the calendar, as a spectator event: G-SHOCK presents Formula Drift Japan Round 4 ran on the racing course on 10–12 July 2026 with the FDJ2 round alongside. Check the event and track calendar before you build a trip around a date.
Which one should you build a Tohoku trip around?
For one day it is still Ebisu — three matsuri (祭り, festival meetings) a year, English entry documents and rental cars from independent operators, covered in our complete Ebisu guide. What this page adds is the rest of the week. From Sendai, Southern Circuit is ¥5,500 and 50 minutes away, open on any weekday. From Fukushima, LINK Circuit is ¥6,000 for a weekday, once you have asked whether drift is allowed in an ordinary slot. From Aomori, Motorland SP is the only game in the far north. Layouts for the rest of the country are in the track directory.
Frequently asked questions
Where can you drift in Tohoku apart from Ebisu Circuit?
Three venues outside Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) name four-wheel drift on their own published price lists, checked as of 5 September 2026. Southern Circuit in Murata, Miyagi, sells a four-wheel drift and grip ticket at ¥5,500 for a full weekday and ¥3,500 for a half day, plus ¥1,000 if you do not hold its annual licence. Kyowa Kart Land in Daisen, Akita, sells a four-wheel slot covering grip, gymkhana and drift at ¥6,000 a day or ¥5,000 a half day, insurance included. Motorland SP in Nanbu, Aomori, runs dedicated drift free-running sessions from 9:00 to 12:20 and 13:30 to 17:30, at ¥8,800 for a visitor's full weekday. A fifth, LINK Circuit near Fukushima City, sells free running from ¥6,000 a weekday but does not state on its site whether drift is allowed in an ordinary slot.
Can I do a drift experience in Yamagata?
No, not at a Yamagata venue, as of 5 September 2026. The prefecture's flagship circuit, Kart Soleil Mogamigawa in Shonai Town, is 1,063 m long and its published price list covers rental sport karts at ¥1,300 a five-minute run, owner-brought racing karts at ¥4,100 a day against a kart licence, and mini-bikes up to 150 cc — cars are not a category there at all, and it closes from December to March. The nearest venues that do sell four-wheel drift running are Southern Circuit in Murata, Miyagi, at ¥5,500 for a full weekday, and Ebisu Circuit in Nihonmatsu, Fukushima, at ¥8,500 for a Course 4 drift day pass.
Does Sportsland SUGO allow drifting?
Sportsland SUGO (Miyagi) sells no drift product for four wheels, checked as of 5 September 2026. What it sells is grip sports running in 25-minute sessions, priced under the tariff in force from 1 March 2026 at ¥12,000 for a visitor and ¥6,000 for an SSCM member, plus a ¥1,500 facility fee for the first session of the day, with the 4C class open to plated road cars on an ordinary driving licence. The only drift on its published 2026 calendar is Formula Drift Japan Round 4 on 10–12 July 2026 on the racing course, which is an event to watch rather than a way onto the track.
How do I get to a Tohoku drift circuit without a car?
Realistically you do not, other than at Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima), as of 5 September 2026. Southern Circuit answers the question on its own access page with a single word — none — and tells you the shortest route is a taxi from JR Minami-Sendai Station or Tomizawa subway station, 50 minutes from central Sendai by car. Motorland SP in Aomori is the tantalising one: the Nanbu Cheri Bus Gomiwatari line stops at Kitayama, about 4 minutes' walk from the gate, at a flat ¥100 fare, but the town timetable has it leaving Kitayama at 9:08 and 13:00 and arriving at 12:47 and 17:20, so no combination gets you to a 9:00 or 13:30 session and home again.