Stock photo, not taken at Meihan: the caged interior of a right-hand-drive competition car with two bucket seats and purple harnesses, the passenger seat in the foreground
🗓 Events & Matsuri TOKYO — Nov 4, 2026

Can You Ride Along at Meihan? Passenger Rides on Drift Days (2026)

By Published Nov 4, 2026 Updated Nov 4, 2026 9 min read

The Rundown

  • Meihan Sportsland (Nara) has no walk-up running for cars as of 4 November 2026. Its general running covers karts and bikes only, so every drift car there is on an organiser's day or a private course hire, and the circuit sells no passenger ride of its own.
  • Meihan's November and December 2026 schedule sheets list 20 organiser drift days from 6 November to 30 December. As of 4 November 2026, none of them has a published passenger fee, lap count or passenger rule that we could find.
  • The one published rule is a ban: the Kansai All-Star Drift GP at Meihan (1 November 2026) prohibited passenger running in practice, the competition and the team session.
  • Hokkoringo's wet-pad lesson at Meihan on Friday 13 November 2026 is the only Meihan day in the period whose own listing includes passenger rides: a ride beside the instructor and the instructor riding with you, for entrants who bring a car.
  • The fixed cost of being there as a guest is Meihan's ¥500 entrance fee per person on Sundays and public holidays. No entrance fee is stated for other days.
Contents
  1. Can you ride along at Meihan at all?
  2. What do Meihan and the organisers actually say about passengers?
  3. Which Meihan days are coming up in November and December 2026?
  4. What does a ride cost, and what are your options?
  5. Where does a visitor from Osaka get stuck?

Riding along at Meihan at a glance

Ride you can bookNonethe circuit sells no passenger ride
Walk-up car runningNokarts and bikes only
Drift days, Nov–Dec20organiser days, 6 Nov to 30 Dec 2026
Passenger feeNot statedby the circuit or any organiser (checked 4 Nov 2026)
Gate fee¥500per person, Sundays and holidays
Known banKansai All-Starno passengers at any point

Meihan Sportsland (Nara) sells no passenger ride, and there is no walk-up car session where you could get one. A ride there happens only on an organiser’s drift day, when an entrant agrees to take you and the organiser allows passengers, and as of 4 November 2026 none of the 20 drift days on the circuit’s November and December sheets publishes a passenger rule or fee. The one cost that is fixed is the ¥500 entrance fee on Sundays and public holidays.

You are in Osaka or Nara, you have seen Meihan’s C course wall on video, and you want to sit in the passenger seat once. That is a fair thing to want, and it is the question we get most about this circuit. Below is what the circuit and each organiser actually publish, checked on the official pages on 4 November 2026, and what that means for planning a day out there.

In Japanese, riding along is 同乗 (dōjō), and a passenger lap is 同乗走行 (dōjō sōkō). An organiser’s day is a 走行会 (sōkōkai): a club, shop or school hires the track and runs it, so the rules on the day are the organiser’s, not the circuit’s. Our Meihan Sportsland guide covers the courses and the circuit in general.

Can you ride along at Meihan at all?

Yes, but never as something you buy at the gate. Meihan’s general running page says the only things you can run there without an organiser are racing karts, mini bikes, motards, pocket bikes and motocross. Cars are not on that list. Every drift car you see at Meihan is there because an organiser hired a course for the day, or a group hired one privately.

So a ride at Meihan has three conditions, and all three have to line up:

1
A drift day is runningAn organiser has hired the C, D or E course. The circuit's monthly sheet shows who and when.
2
The organiser allows passengersThis is the organiser's rule, set per event. Most do not publish it; one big event bans it.
3
An entrant agrees to take youThe driver, the car and the entry are theirs. You are their guest in the seat.

How many laps, and in which session, is then up to that entrant and that organiser. Nobody at Meihan publishes a lap count for passengers.

What do Meihan and the organisers actually say about passengers?

Here is every published statement we found, read on 4 November 2026:

SourceWhat it says about passengers
Meihan Sportsland, general running pageNothing about car passengers. Cars are excluded from general running altogether
Meihan Sportsland, fee pagesA ¥500 “additional person” (相乗り, ainori) charge, but on the C course page it is spelled out as a second driver sharing a kart. It is not a drift-car passenger fee
Meihan Sportsland, facility rulesAnyone who drives needs a licence; spectators must stay off the course and follow the organiser’s instructions at events
Kansai All-Star Drift GP (held at Meihan, 1 Nov 2026)Passenger running banned across the whole programme: practice, competition and the team session
SEIMI STYLE DRIFT (8 Nov round page)Nothing about passengers. Lists driver kit, says fees are not normally refunded and that minors need a guardian’s signature
Hokkoringo (13 Nov lesson listing)Passenger rides are part of the lesson: a ride beside the instructor (同乗) and the instructor riding with you (逆同乗, gyaku-dōjō)

The Kansai All-Star ban is worth knowing even though that event is now over. It shows that when an organiser does write a passenger rule down, it can be a flat no. Our Kansai All-Star Drift GP guide has the rest of that event’s rules.

Hokkoringo is a different kind of day. Meihan’s sheet lists it as “other” rather than drift, and it is a small lesson on a fully watered surface (nine places on 13 November), built around people who bring their own car. Its listing asks for a full-face or jet helmet (no half helmets), gloves, long sleeves, long trousers and proper shoes, and says the circuit rents helmets at ¥500 each. Entry is through the organiser’s Japanese form, with payment due within three days and no cancellations once entered. The listing gives no price, and it closes on 10 November.

"Not stated" is not "allowed"

An organiser that publishes no passenger rule has not said yes. It decides on the day, and it can say no at the drivers' briefing. Do not build a trip around a ride that only one silent rule page stands behind.

Which Meihan days are coming up in November and December 2026?

These are the drift days on Meihan’s own schedule sheets from 6 November to the end of the year, plus the Hokkoringo lesson. The organiser names are as the circuit prints them. Where the sheet links an organiser’s site, we read it on 4 November 2026.

DateOrganiserPassenger ruleGate fee
Fri 6 NovEnjoy DriftNo organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated
Sat 7 NovGen STYLE (源STYLE走行会)Organiser posts on X only; the organiser says November is fullNot stated
Sun 8 NovSEIMI STYLE DRIFTNot stated on the organiser’s page (checked 4 Nov 2026)¥500
Tue 10 NovEnjoy Drift; Explosion RacingNo organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated
Wed 11 NovASSIST MotorsportNot stated on the organiser’s site (checked 4 Nov 2026)Not stated
Fri 13 NovHokkoringo (lesson, not a drift day)Passenger and reverse-passenger rides included for entrantsNot stated
Wed 18 NovSUBARISTANo organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated
Sat 21 NovT&M Total DesignNo organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated
Wed 25 NovHooligan RacingNo organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated
Sun 29 NovTsutomu Ikka (つーとむ一家)No organiser page linked from the sheet¥500
Tue 1 DecGarage Kinoko ClubNo organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated
Sun 6 DecSTYLISTNo organiser page linked from the sheet¥500
Fri 11 DecFKY-SPEEDNo organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated
Sun 13 DecSEIMI STYLE DRIFT; Garage DAXSEIMI: not stated on the organiser’s page (checked 4 Nov 2026). Garage DAX: no page linked¥500
Sat 19 DecGen STYLEOrganiser posts on X only; the organiser says December is fullNot stated
Sun 20 DecLink-so (リンク走)Not stated on the organiser’s site (checked 4 Nov 2026); no post for this date yet¥500
Sat 26 DecKochoran (胡蝶乱)No organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated
Tue 29 DecSEIMI STYLE DRIFT (C and D courses)Not stated on the organiser’s page (checked 4 Nov 2026)Not stated
Wed 30 DecBOARNo organiser page linked from the sheetNot stated

Meihan prints “subject to change without notice” at the top of every sheet, so re-check the month before you travel. The same dates, with each organiser’s details as we have them, are on our Meihan schedule and the national drift event calendar. If a SEIMI day is the one you are aiming at, the entry details are in our SEIMI STYLE DRIFT at Meihan guide, and we do not repeat them here.

The Sundays matter for one practical reason. If the ride falls through, a Sunday still gives you a full day watching from behind the fences for the ¥500 entrance fee, with the gates open from 6:00.

What does a ride cost, and what are your options?

There is no price list, so the cost depends on how the ride comes about:

RouteWhat you payWhat it gets you
Self-arranged at Meihan¥500 entrance on Sundays and holidays, plus any passenger charge the organiser sets on the day (none published)A ride only if an entrant agrees and the organiser allows it
Lesson entrant at Meihan (Hokkoringo, 13 Nov)Lesson fee not stated in the organiser’s listing, plus your own carPassenger laps with the instructor, as part of a lesson you drive in
Bookable ride near Osaka, not at Meihan (MR.HIRO DRIFT)¥60,000 including tax, campaign price (regular ¥110,000)5 ride-along laps in an AE86 plus 8 to 10 laps driving a Roadster, at an undisclosed private venue reached by the operator’s transport
Meihan with usActual cost plus a fee; we quote the total up frontThe Japanese side and the trip out handled, on a day that allows passengers

MR.HIRO DRIFT’s page sets a minimum age of 12 for the ride, 21 with driving experience for the drive, and a body weight limit of 100 kg. It is the simplest bookable seat in the Osaka area, but it is not Meihan and not an organiser drift day. Every other ride option in Japan, from circuit-run drift taxis to published ride-along add-ons, is compared in our guide to riding in a drift car in Japan, and the wider region is in drifting in Kansai.

Where does a visitor from Osaka get stuck?

At the person. The ride at Meihan is never sold, it is offered: an entrant has to agree to put you in their seat, and the organiser has to allow it that day. Every organiser page we read is in Japanese, the rules on passengers are almost never written down, and the answer usually comes at the drivers’ briefing in the morning. You cannot settle any of that from a hotel in Osaka with a booking form.

Then there is the trip. Meihan has no bus to the gate, and drift days start early. The public transport chain that does exist, and the one taxi firm the circuit lists, is in our guide to getting to Meihan Sportsland without a car.

The ride depends on someone saying yes, in Japanese

A seat at Meihan comes from an entrant and an organiser agreeing to it on the day, and the circuit is out of reach by bus. Meihan with us: watch from the paddock, and ride along on the days that allow it, with the trip out from Osaka or Nara arranged.

Frequently asked questions

Can I ride along as a passenger in a drift car at Meihan Sportsland?

Only indirectly. Meihan Sportsland (Nara) sells no passenger ride and has no walk-up running for cars, so a ride happens only on an organiser's drift day or a private course hire, when an entrant agrees to take you and the organiser allows passengers that day. As of 4 November 2026, none of the 20 organiser drift days on Meihan's November and December 2026 sheets had a published passenger rule, fee or lap count that we could find, and the Kansai All-Star Drift GP held there on 1 November 2026 banned passenger running outright.

How much does a passenger ride at Meihan cost?

There is no published price. As of 4 November 2026, Meihan Sportsland (Nara) states no passenger fee for cars, and no organiser running a drift day there in November or December 2026 publishes one. The only fixed cost is Meihan's ¥500 entrance fee per person on Sundays and public holidays. The ¥500 'additional person' line on Meihan's fee pages is for a second driver sharing a kart, not a passenger in a drift car.

Can I just turn up at Meihan and get a ride in a drift car?

No. As of 4 November 2026, Meihan Sportsland (Nara) limits general running to karts, mini bikes, motards, pocket bikes and motocross, so there is no car session to turn up to. Drift cars run only on organiser days, and there is no ride desk on any of them. You can still watch: entry costs ¥500 per person on Sundays and public holidays, and the gates open at 6:00 on weekends and holidays and 7:00 on weekdays.

Is there anywhere near Osaka where I can simply book a drift ride?

Yes, but not at Meihan Sportsland (Nara). As of 4 November 2026, MR.HIRO DRIFT, run from MR.HIRO CAR STUDIO in Osaka, sells a Drift Package of 5 ride-along laps in an AE86 plus 8 to 10 laps driving a Roadster at a private venue near Osaka it does not name, at a campaign price of ¥60,000 including tax (regular ¥110,000). The venue cannot be reached on your own; transport runs from the studio. At Meihan itself, nothing equivalent is sold.

This report is provided for general information. Event dates, entry fees, track rules and car prices change quickly. Always confirm current details with the official sources listed above before travelling or spending money. TSUISO is not affiliated with any circuit, organiser or shop mentioned. Drive on circuits, not on public roads.

Drift Japan Monthly: where you can drive, ride along or watch drifting in Japan in the month ahead, with prices and how to book.