Drift Experience in Japan (2026): Ride, Drive or Rent by Region
The Rundown
- The cheapest seat in a drift car is ¥1,500 — a published ride-along add-on at Mobara Twin Circuit, the one drift venue you can reach from Tokyo by train.
- The cheapest seat you can book in English is Ebisu's Drift Taxi, sold by Fukushima Prefecture's own tourism association: ¥50,000 per car, 45 minutes, up to three people, no licence required.
- The cheapest way to actually drive is Motorland Kijo in Miyazaki: from ¥10,000 per person for a one-hour kei-car session, ages 13–90, bookable in English.
- The most accessible "you drive" product in Japan is Minami Chiba Circuit's rental drift experience, published at ¥45,000 on weekdays and ¥50,000 at weekends and holidays, tax included, read off the circuit's own page on 7 September 2026. No driving licence is needed — only a height of 150 cm or more. Booking is Japanese-only.
- Most prefectures sell nothing at all. There is no drift circuit in Tokyo, none in Kanagawa, and nothing bookable in Aichi, Kagoshima or Fukuoka — whose only four-wheel circuit closed at the end of 2022.
Contents
- The whole ladder in one table
- Rung 1 — Watch, for the price of a coffee
- Rung 2 — Ride, from ¥1,500 to ¥50,000
- Rung 3 — Actually drive, from ¥10,000
- Rung 4 — Rent a real drift car
- Where you can actually buy this, region by region
- The prefectures where the answer is no
- Sold as “drift”, but isn’t
- Which rung is yours
You have two weeks in Japan, no car here, and no intention of learning to drive on the left in someone’s ¥2 million drift build. You still want to feel one. Search in English and you get “Tokyo drift experience” listings with no price until checkout, plus forum posts from 2017 naming businesses that no longer rent cars.
Here is the whole ladder instead, priced, with every number read off the operator’s or circuit’s own page in July 2026. Four rungs: watch, ride, drive something small, rent something serious.
Getting into a drift car without your own — verified 30 Aug 2026
The whole ladder in one table
| Rung | What you actually get | Cost | Where | Booking language |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Watch | Gate entry to a grassroots drift day | ¥500 weekends, free weekdays | Mobara Twin, Chiba | Japanese only |
| Watch | Whole matsuri (祭り — festival) weekend, every course running | ¥2,500 adult / ¥1,200 child | Ebisu, Fukushima | English page published |
| Ride | Dōjō sōkō (同乗走行 — riding as a passenger) add-on on a circuit drift day | ¥1,500, paid on the day | Mobara Twin, Chiba | Japanese only |
| Ride | Hot Lap Experience, minimum 3 laps as passenger | from ¥25,000 + ¥2,200 circuit entry | Ebisu, Fukushima | English |
| Ride | Drift Taxi, 45 min, up to 3 people in one car | ¥50,000 per car + ¥500pp insurance | Ebisu, Fukushima | English (stated as limited) |
| Drive | 1-hour kei-car session, six runs guaranteed | from ¥10,000 per person | Motorland Kijo, Miyazaki | English |
| Drive | Ride-and-drive: 3 passenger laps + 3×10 min at the wheel | Variant price not separately published (TBC) | Ebisu, Fukushima | English |
| Rent | 1-day hire, Nissan 350Z or Toyota JZX100 | from ¥125,000 per car | Ebisu, Fukushima | English |
The gap between rungs three and four is the thing nobody spells out: a passenger seat and a rental car are not two versions of the same product. One is an afternoon. The other is a budget line.
Rung 1 — Watch, for the price of a coffee
Spectating is the rung most visitors skip and then regret skipping. Mobara Twin Circuit charges ¥500 to get in on a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday, and nothing at all on a weekday — and it is the only proper drift venue you can reach from Tokyo by train, about 45 minutes to Mobara Station plus a short bus or taxi. Re-entry is charged again, so plan to stay put. Which days run is in our Mobara Twin Circuit guide.
The bigger version is a matsuri at Ebisu: ¥2,500 for adults, ¥1,200 for children aged 3 to elementary school age, valid for the whole weekend with every course open — covered properly in our Ebisu Drift Matsuri first-timer’s guide.
Don't turn up expecting to blag a ride
Ebisu's own matsuri page asks spectators to stop approaching drivers for a passenger seat: most entrants are private enthusiasts, not professionals, and the circuit strongly discourages riding with someone you do not know. Buy one of the priced seats below instead. If a driver does offer you one at Ebisu, passenger insurance is a mandatory ¥500.
Rung 2 — Ride, from ¥1,500 to ¥50,000
Mobara, ¥1,500. On the circuit’s own drift days, the fee sheet lists a ride-along at ¥1,500, paid at same-day reception. The page is blunt about what it is not: you cannot drive on it. And the honest catch — ¥1,500 buys your right to sit in the car, not a driver willing to take you. You need someone on the entry list who says yes, and everything about Mobara is Japanese-only. (The published fee sits on the circuit-run day page; whether the same add-on applies on the NikoNiko and Sunday Meeting organiser days is not stated — TBC.)
Ebisu, ¥25,000. The Sideways Experience, one of several independent operators based at Ebisu, sells a Hot Lap Experience from ¥25,000: a minimum of three laps as a passenger on North, Nishi or Touge course depending on the day. Bookings run 9:00 to 15:00, walk-ins are possible, and you can pay cash on the day. Circuit entry is not included — ¥2,200 for a passenger pass, ¥3,000 for a driver pass, paid to Ebisu on the day. Their newer ride-and-drive package adds three ten-minute slots in the driver’s seat of a 350Z on wet Kuru Kuru Land with an instructor; that variant’s price is not listed separately.
Ebisu, ¥50,000 per car. The one sold by a government body: Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association runs a 45-minute Drift Taxi at Ebisu, ¥50,000 per car for up to three passengers, with a professional instructor driving. No licence needed; the only stated restriction is a 140 cm minimum height. It runs Sundays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays, and Fukushima’s own guide says April to November, not winter. Helmet and three courses included; ¥500 per person insurance is not.
Split three ways it stops looking expensive — and it is the only option here that solves transport:
| Item | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Drift Taxi, 45 min, up to 3 passengers | ¥50,000 per car | Slots at 9:00, 11:00, 14:00 |
| Passenger insurance | ¥500 per person | Not included in the car price |
| Taxi shuttle, Fukushima Stn ⇄ circuit (1–3 people) | ¥18,350 per booking | Waits through your session, then takes you back |
| Three friends, all in | ¥69,850 | About ¥23,283 each |
Cancellation is free until 17:00 five days before, 50% until 17:00 two days before, and 100% after that — worth knowing if your Shinkansen plans are still soft.
Rung 3 — Actually drive, from ¥10,000
If your trip reaches Kyushu, Motorland Kijo in Miyazaki is the outlier that makes the rest of this page look overpriced. Its one-hour “anyway drift” plan starts at ¥10,000 per person, in the venue’s own kei car (軽自動車 — Japan’s sub-660cc class) on special low-grip tyres, with a licensed instructor in the passenger seat coaching you. Ages 13 to 90, six runs guaranteed in the hour even if others are booked, and it runs rain or shine. Booking is in English through Activity Japan, closing at 06:59 three days before. It is 20 minutes by taxi from JR Takanabe Station.
Set expectations: this is a low-grip introduction, not a track day. The plan page states no on-site licence is required, but whether a home driving licence is expected is not stated — ask when you book (TBC).
At Ebisu, the cheapest way to get your own hands on the wheel in English is The Sideways Experience’s Ride and Drive Experience at ¥60,000: three laps in the passenger seat first, then three ten-minute slots driving with an instructor beside you. That sits between the ¥25,000 Hot Lap and a ¥50,000-a-day tuition booking, and it is the rung most first-timers actually want.
Nearer Tokyo, the equivalent first rung is Minami Chiba Circuit, whose own rental drift experience — the “EX” hour, on the circuit’s Mazda Roadster with an instructor beside you — is published at ¥45,000 on a weekday and ¥50,000 at weekends and public holidays, tax included, covering the car, fuel, tyres and the track time. That is read off the circuit’s own current page on 7 September 2026. Budget for the joining step as well: the booking system takes a deposit of ¥10,000 or more that is credited against use rather than refunded, ¥2,000 of it is applied when you book the slot, and the remaining ¥43,000 (¥48,000 at weekends and holidays) is paid at reception on the day.
One correction worth stating plainly, because the old number is still circulating. Until recently we
published ¥18,000 for this session, taken from minamichibacircuit.com/indexn.html. That page is
still online — it returned HTTP 200 on 7 September 2026 — but its own footer still reads 2019 and it
still quotes the old ¥18,000 and a ¥16,000 balance, while two separate 2026-dated pages on the same
site — the EX menu and the MCC academy page — both quote ¥45,000. A third address that older notes
pointed at for the rental menu, d_short/dorirental.html, now returns 404 outright. We have not seen
the circuit announce a price change anywhere, so we are not calling this an increase; we are quoting
the figure the current pages carry and flagging that a stale page contradicts it.
The circuit says plainly that you do not need a driving licence for the EX hour and that anyone 150 cm or taller can take part, which makes it the most accessible drive-it-yourself product in the country — the catch being that membership registration and payment run through a Japanese-only booking system, and that four or more people are treated as an exclusive hire. It also runs its own watch → ride → drive-a-rental ladder for beginners in Japanese, while the English layer comes from operators on GetYourGuide, Klook and Rakuten — the listings where most “Tokyo drift experience” bookings actually land. See the Minami Chiba Circuit guide for what those packages include.
Rung 4 — Rent a real drift car
This is where the money changes shape, and where the number most often quoted online is wrong. ¥125,000 buys a half day in The Sideways Experience’s Nissan 350Z, not a day. Re-read off its own price list on 30 August 2026, the ladder is: 350Z ¥125,000 half day and ¥175,000 full day, JZX100 ¥175,000 half and ¥225,000 full, and the 1JZ-swapped 350Z ¥350,000 for a full day. A full day runs 09:00–16:00, an extra tyre is ¥11,000 and a second driver ¥10,000. Every hire starts with a briefing and a session on Kuru Kuru Land; you move to other courses once you can hold controlled donuts and figure-eights. Circuit entry is not included — ¥3,000 for a driver pass, ¥2,200 for a passenger. Tuition is separate, and Touge, tandem or matsuri running needs a refundable damage deposit.
JDM Drift School 翔 and Japan Drift Rentals also operate at Ebisu. Powervehicles, still named as a rental source in older English write-ups, does not rent or loan cars.
Five things to confirm before you pay
- Ride or drive? Several English listings are passenger-only and rarely say so plainly.
- Is circuit entry included? At Ebisu it usually is not — ¥2,200 passenger / ¥3,000 driver, on the day.
- Insurance. ¥500 per person is mandatory at Ebisu whenever you ride as a passenger.
- The cancellation clock. The Drift Taxi turns 50% chargeable five days out; Motorland Kijo the day before.
- How you get there. Only Mobara sits on a usable train line; everywhere else assumes a car or a shuttle.
If the booking is in Japanese, leave it to us
The cheapest rungs here are the ones with no English at all — Mobara's fee sheet, its reception desk and its booking are Japanese-only, and the circuit-run days are where the cheapest seat on this page lives. We are based in Japan, so that part is ours: we make the call, hold your slot, and check the day is actually running before you build a trip around it. If you would rather not deal with the transport either, we can meet you at the airport and get you to the circuit and back. Tell us your dates and which rung you are aiming at — it is free, and we answer in English.
Where you can actually buy this, region by region
Searches like “Aichi drift experience” or “Kagoshima drift experience” assume every prefecture has something. Almost none do. Here is every product we could verify on 30 August 2026 that puts a visitor without their own car into a drifting car.
| Prefecture | What you can buy without a car of your own | From | Booked in English? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fukushima (Ebisu) | Drift taxi ride, hot laps, ride-and-drive, tuition, car hire — the deepest menu in Japan | ¥25,000 hot laps; ¥50,000 per car for the prefecture-run drift taxi | Yes |
| Chiba (Minami Chiba) | The circuit’s own “EX” rental drift hour — car, fuel, tyres and track time included, instructor alongside, no licence required | ¥45,000 weekday / ¥50,000 weekend and holiday, tax incl. (re-read 7 Sep 2026), plus a ¥10,000 joining deposit | No — Japanese booking system |
| Chiba / Tokyo pickup | Ride-alongs and private lessons sold to visitors with hotel pickup (Matenro, JDM tour operators) | ¥79,800 ride-along; ¥109,999 circuit day; ¥199,800 private lesson | Yes |
| Tochigi (Nikko) | HYPER DRIVE’s one-coin passenger ride on its school days — cash, no reservation | ¥500 | No |
| Mie, Okayama, Tokushima, Gifu | k-dori’s prepped S-chassis hire — tyres, fuel, transport and circuit entry all in | ¥350,000 per car per day | Yes |
| Osaka | MR.HIRO’s ride-plus-drive package at a private venue near the city | ¥60,000 campaign price (listed at ¥110,000) | Claimed — see below |
| Miyazaki (Motorland Kijo) | One hour in the venue’s own kei car with an instructor beside you | ¥10,000 | Yes |
| Hokkaido (Rusutsu) | Snow drift: 4 minutes in the passenger seat, or a 75-minute driving course | ¥16,500 ride; ¥55,500 to drive | Yes — winter only |
Two caveats on that table. MR.HIRO does not disclose its venue — you are shuttled there, and it may not be inside Osaka prefecture — and its own terms state the service carries no insurance cover, so ask before you pay. Rusutsu’s 2026–27 winter dates were not published yet when we checked; the prices above are last season’s published rates.
If you do have a car in Japan, the map widens a lot: Ibaraki, Tochigi and Gunma all have practice days with tuition from ¥10,000 through organisers like NAIGEL, Miyagi’s Southern Circuit runs a morning drift school from ¥5,500, and Okinawa’s Multi Field sells 30 minutes of drift running for ¥1,500 with English forms on site. None of those supply a car.
The prefectures where the answer is no
This is the part nobody writes down, so it is worth being blunt about.
Tokyo has no drift circuit. Everything sold as a “Tokyo drift experience” is either a pickup service to Chiba, Fukushima or Shizuoka, or a night cruise on public roads with no drifting in it. Kanagawa has none either — and its search results are a trap, because G Circuit Yokohama, WARUCIRCUIT and Drift Park Shonan are all radio-control car venues.
Aichi generates real search demand and has four live circuits — Mihama, Spa Nishiura, Motorland Mikawa and Autoland Tsukude — but every one of them is bring-your-own-car, and two take bookings only by telephone or fax. There is nothing to buy without a car. Nara is similar in effect: Meihan Sportsland’s own rules exclude cars from general running, so drifting there means a course hire or a third-party run day.
Fukuoka has nothing at all: Speed Park Koinoura, the prefecture’s four-wheel circuit, closed at the end of December 2022, and the Kyushu drift league that a Fukuoka shop organises runs its rounds across the border at Autopolis in Oita. Kagoshima’s circuit is live but bans drifting in free running. Kyoto, Wakayama, Shimane, Tottori, Kochi, Saga, Nagasaki, Yamagata and Iwate returned nothing at any of the four levels.
Sold as “drift”, but isn’t
Half the money spent by visitors on “drift experiences” goes to products that contain no drifting. Check against this before you book.
| What you find | What it actually is |
|---|---|
| ”Fast & Furious Tokyo Drift” night tours | A passenger cruise on Tokyo’s expressways and Daikoku PA. No circuit, no drifting |
| ”Hokkaido drift” in English search results | Sea-ice walking tours — drift ice, not cars. The car product exists but is listed in Japanese as 雪上ドリフト |
| Nara “Drift Mountains” driving tour | A scenic drive on public touge roads in a road car |
| Osaka “Initial D car rental” | A road-legal car hire. Drifting on public roads is illegal, and no circuit is included |
| Autopolis 同乗走行 (¥2,200) and its GR86 session | A lead-car passenger lap and a pace-car-led drive. Grip running, not drift |
| Okayama International and Autopolis “experience runs” | Both state in writing that no rental vehicle exists — you need your own car |
Which rung is yours
Tokyo, tight budget, some Japanese help: Mobara — ¥500 to watch, ¥1,500 if a driver takes you. Tokyo, no Japanese, want it booked and done: an English operator’s package, knowing it is a half-day round trip to Chiba. A spare day and a rail pass: the Ebisu Drift Taxi plus the station shuttle, the shortest distance between “I don’t drive” and sideways on a Fukushima mountain. Kyushu on the itinerary: Motorland Kijo, and you drive.
Before any of it, check the calendar for a matsuri weekend inside your dates. If one lands, it changes the plan entirely.
Frequently asked questions
Can I ride in a drift car in Japan without a driving licence?
Yes. Ebisu's Drift Taxi is driven by a professional instructor, so no licence is needed — the only stated restriction is a minimum height of 140 cm and a maximum of three passengers per car. The ¥1,500 ride-along add-on at Mobara Twin Circuit also puts you in the passenger seat only; the circuit's page states plainly that you cannot drive on it.
What is the cheapest way to get into a drift car near Tokyo?
Mobara Twin Circuit's ¥1,500 ride-along, paid at same-day reception on one of the circuit's own drift days. The catch is honest: the fee buys your right to sit in the car, not a driver. You need an entrant who agrees to take you, and the circuit's site and booking are Japanese-only.
Can I hire a drift car at Ebisu without doing a school first?
Yes — The Sideways Experience publishes one-day hires from ¥125,000 per car, with a driver briefing first and a progression that starts on Kuru Kuru Land. Circuit entry is extra (¥3,000 for a driver pass), and driving Touge, tandem or during a matsuri requires a ¥200,000 refundable damage deposit. Powervehicles, still named as a rental source in older English blog posts, does not rent or loan cars — we re-checked in July 2026.
Is there a drift experience in Tokyo?
Not on a circuit — there is no drift track in Tokyo, and none in Kanagawa either. Every product sold as a Tokyo drift experience is one of three things: transport to a circuit in Chiba, Fukushima or Shizuoka with the drifting done there; a night cruise on public expressways, which contains no drifting; or a radio-control car venue. The nearest real drifting you can buy from a Tokyo hotel is Minami Chiba Circuit, about 90 minutes away, where the circuit's own rental drift experience is published at ¥45,000 on weekdays and ¥50,000 at weekends and holidays, tax included, and operators sell packaged days with hotel pickup from around ¥109,999.
Can I drift in Japan without a driving licence?
Yes, at two verified places. Minami Chiba Circuit states that its rental drift experience needs no driving licence and no circuit licence — the requirement is a height of 150 cm or more, with no age or gender restriction. Its current page, read on 7 September 2026, prices that hour at ¥45,000 on weekdays and ¥50,000 at weekends and holidays, tax included; an older page on the same domain, whose own footer still reads 2019, is still online showing ¥18,000, so quote the current figure when you budget. Motorland Kijo in Miyazaki states no on-site licence is required for its ¥10,000 kei-car session, open to ages 13 to 90, though whether it expects a home licence is not stated on the plan page. Everything else on this page assumes you hold a licence, and renting a real drift car at Ebisu requires an International Driving Permit.