A black Mazda MX-5 and a Nissan 350Z drifting side by side in tyre smoke on an asphalt pad lined with old tyres. Stock photo, not taken in Japan
🛣 Tracks & Access TOKYO — Nov 4, 2026

Can You Go Drifting in Japan Tomorrow? Booking Lead Times (2026)

By Published Nov 4, 2026 Updated Nov 4, 2026 13 min read

The Rundown

  • Ebisu Circuit's Drift Taxi (Fukushima) is a request booking that closes at 17:00 Japan time ten days before the ride, so a request sent on 4 November 2026 can only be for 14 November or later; it costs ¥50,000 per car for up to three people.
  • The only drift ride in Japan you can realistically get the next day is The Sideways Experience's ¥25,000 Hot Lap at Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima): walk-ins are accepted, but the operator asks you to email or message first so staff are on site.
  • Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba) requires an advance booking for every session, including the ¥45,000 weekday rental drift hour (EX); its FAQ says the same-day desk only adds extra running to an existing booking.
  • Meihan Sportsland (Nara), the drift track nearest Osaka, has no walk-up four-wheel running at all, and the one Osaka ride-and-drive package, MR.HIRO DRIFT, listed only 30 November, 14 December and 28 December 2026 sessions when checked on 4 November.
  • With your own car, short notice is easier: Suzuka Twin Circuit (Mie) takes phone bookings until 16:00 the day before, Motorland Mikawa (Aichi) sells same-day hours at ¥4,500, and Mobara Twin Circuit (Chiba) sells a same-day half day at ¥8,500 when classes are not full.
Contents
  1. How far ahead does each drift option need booking?
  2. What can I still do if I’m in Tokyo or near Fukushima?
  3. What about Osaka, Nara and Nagoya at short notice?
  4. How much does short-notice drifting cost?
  5. Where does short-notice booking usually get stuck?

Short-notice drifting in Japan

Price of the next-day option¥25,000Ebisu Hot Lap, plus ¥2,200 circuit entry (checked 4 Nov 2026)
Ebisu Drift Taxi10 daysrequest closes 17:00 JST ten days before
Minami Chiba rental hourBook aheadno walk-ins; cut-off time not officially stated
Kijo, Miyazaki3 daysActivity Japan closes 06:59 three days before
Meihan, NaraNo walk-upcars only on organiser days or course hire
Own car, Suzuka TwinDay beforephone by 16:00; same day if a slot is free

Usually not tomorrow, unless you take a seat with The Sideways Experience at Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima), which accepts walk-ins for its ¥25,000 Hot Lap if you message first. Ebisu Circuit’s own Drift Taxi closes requests ten days before the ride, Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba) needs an advance booking for its rental drift hour, and Meihan Sportsland (Nara), the track nearest Osaka, has no walk-up running for cars at all. Every lead time below was checked on the official pages on 4 November 2026.

The question we hear most often is some version of “I’m in Osaka today, is there a drift taxi in the next couple of hours?” or “Can I ride tomorrow near Okayama?” It is a fair thing to ask, because every listing says “book now” and almost none of them say how far ahead “now” has to be. The answer depends on two things: whether you need someone else’s car, and which region you are standing in.

How far ahead does each drift option need booking?

This is every option a visitor can realistically use, grouped by region, with the booking deadline and channel as each operator or circuit prints them. “Walk-up” means you can arrive without a booking and still get on.

RegionOption (venue, prefecture)What you doHow far aheadHow you bookWalk-up or same day?
FukushimaDrift Taxi, Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima)Ride, up to 3 per car10 days, by 17:00 JSTEnglish request form, Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association; operator confirmsNo
FukushimaHot Lap, The Sideways Experience at EbisuRide, minimum 3 lapsNone statedEnglish web shop, or email/messageYes, 9:00–15:00, message first
FukushimaCar hire, The Sideways Experience at EbisuDrive their 350Z or JZX100At least 3 months for April, May and NovemberEnglish web shop or email; 50% depositLast-minute only by emailing to ask
FukushimaDrift sports running, Ebisu CircuitDrive your own carNot statedPay at the circuit; afternoon half-day tickets on sale from 11:00Price list marks gymkhana and bike running “reservation required” but not drift
Tokyo / ChibaRental drift hour (EX), Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba)Drive their Roadster, 2 people per slotAdvance booking required; cut-off not statedJapanese reservation site, member registration firstNo; same-day desk is for extra running only
Tokyo / ChibaCircuit-run drift day, Mobara Twin Circuit (Chiba)Drive your own carAdvance rate closes 7 days before (event day not counted)Web, cash registered post or at the window; no phone or faxYes, 8:00–8:20 reception, if classes are not full
Tokyo / ChibaRide-along, Mobara drift daysRide with an entrant who agreesNonePaid by the entered driver at check-inOnly with a driver who will take you
Tokyo / ChibaOne-coin ride, HYPER DRIVE school days (Nikko, Fuji)RideNoneNo reservation; sign up at the paddock 12:30–13:00Yes, first 20 people
Nagoya / Aichi / GifuFree run, YZ Circuit East (Gifu)Drive your own carFrom 30 days ahead up to the day itselfEmail only, in JapaneseWeekday 13:00 slots onward run only if booked by 08:00 that day
Nagoya / Aichi / GifuFree run, Motorland Mikawa (Aichi)Drive your own carBooking rate closes 3 days beforePhone only, in Japanese; email not acceptedYes, at the same-day rate
Kansai / MeihanSuzuka Twin Circuit (Mie), drift D courseDrive your own carBy 16:00 the day beforePhone only, in Japanese; email not acceptedYes, if a slot is free, at the same-day rate
Kansai / MeihanMeihan Sportsland (Nara)Drive your own car on an organiser day or hireSet by each organiser; hire not statedOrganiser’s own entry; hire by post, fax or windowNo; general running is karts and bikes only
Kansai / MeihanMR.HIRO DRIFT, near OsakaRide, then driveScheduled sessions onlyIts own English booking page; card prepaymentNo; meet at its Osaka studio for the shuttle
Kyushu1-hour drift plan, Motorland Kijo (Miyazaki)Drive their kei car with staff beside youBy 06:59 three days beforeActivity Japan, in EnglishNo

Two things jump out. Every option where you drive a supplied car has a stated lead time, from three days at Kijo to three months for a peak-season car hire at Ebisu. The one grey area is The Sideways Experience’s Ride and Drive (three passenger laps, then three ten-minute slots at the wheel of its 350Z), which is sold on the same page as the walk-in Hot Lap; whether it can be had on the day is TBC. And every option you can walk into either seats you as a passenger or assumes you arrived in a road-registered car of your own. The big hire-car companies’ terms prohibit circuit use, as our drift car rental guide covers in full, so for most visitors that second group is closed.

What can I still do if I’m in Tokyo or near Fukushima?

Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) is the strongest short-notice region in the country, because it has the only walk-in ride sold in English. The Sideways Experience’s Hot Lap is ¥25,000 for a minimum of three passenger laps on North, Nishi or Touge course, depending on the day. Its own page says walk-ins are available, but asks you to email or message beforehand so that staff are on site and not away at an event; bookings run 9:00 to 15:00 and the track closes at 16:00. You can pay cash on the day. Circuit entry is extra: ¥2,200 for a passenger pass, payable to Ebisu at the gate. Ebisu is about three hours from Tokyo by car, and our Ebisu Circuit guide covers the train, bus and taxi chain.

The circuit’s own Drift Taxi is the opposite case. Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association sells it in English at ¥50,000 per car for up to three people, 45 minutes, slots at 9:00, 11:00 and 14:00, every day except Wednesday. Each booking is a request the operator has to confirm, and the booking deadline in the page’s own settings is 17:00 Japan time ten days before. Counted from 4 November 2026, a request sent before 17:00 that day can only be for a ride on 14 November or later. Cancellation is free until 17:00 five days before, 50% until 17:00 two days before, and 100% after that.

Check the matsuri weekend

Ebisu's Autumn Drift Matsuri runs on 14 and 15 November 2026, and advance entry closed on 23 October. Driving entry on the day is ¥25,000 with no pit. Operators on site are busy that weekend, which is exactly when The Sideways Experience asks you to message before you turn up.

Near Tokyo, nothing you can drive is bookable for tomorrow without your own car. Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba), the venue behind most “Tokyo drift experience” listings, redesigned its website on 1 November 2026 and now has an English section and a page for overseas visitors. The booking rules did not loosen. Its FAQ says every session needs an advance booking and the same-day desk only adds extra running. The one-hour rental drift experience (EX) costs ¥45,000 on weekdays and ¥50,000 at weekends and holidays, tax included, takes two people per normal slot, and is booked on a separate reservation site in Japanese after a member registration and a ¥10,000 membership payment in advance. How late before the day a slot can still be booked is not officially stated. The circuit runs no transfer; the nearest station is JR Toke, about 7 km away by taxi. The full fee ladder is in our Minami Chiba Circuit guide.

Mobara Twin Circuit (Chiba) is the walk-up option if you have a car and a licence. On its circuit-run drift days, the advance rate of ¥15,000 for a full day closes seven days before the event (the event day itself is not counted). After that, it is same-day reception from 8:00 to 8:20 at ¥16,000 for a full day or ¥8,500 for a morning or afternoon half, only if classes are not already full, with full-day entries given priority over half days. The circuit takes no phone or fax entries. Its ¥1,500 ride-along is paid by the entered driver at check-in, so it only works if someone on the list agrees to take you. Blank days on Mobara’s schedule mean no drift at all; our Mobara Twin Circuit guide explains how to read it.

The cheapest walk-up seat in the region is HYPER DRIVE’s ¥500 one-coin passenger ride on its drift school days at Nikko and Fuji. No reservation is needed: you sign up at the paddock between 12:30 and 13:00 and rides start around 13:00, first 20 people only, cash on the day (Fuji adds its ¥1,200 gate). It only exists on school days, so it is a matter of luck whether one falls inside your trip.

What about Osaka, Nara and Nagoya at short notice?

This is where most short-notice plans fall through, so it is worth being blunt.

Meihan Sportsland (Nara) is the drift track nearest Osaka, and its own general-running page lists karts, mini-bikes, motard, pocket bikes and motocross as the only categories open to the public. Cars run there on an organiser’s drift day or a private course hire, nothing else. The course-hire page lists exactly three ways to book: by post, by fax, or in person at the reception window, with requests ranked by the date the form arrives. (The front page also gives an email address, [email protected], and a mobile number; in August 2026 the circuit was using email for hire bookings because its fax was out of order, but that notice is no longer on the site, so which channel it prefers today is TBC.) Organisers set their own entry deadlines, mostly in Japanese, and the circuit is closed on Thursdays. Our Meihan Sportsland guide lists the organiser days.

MR.HIRO DRIFT is the one ride-and-drive package sold in Osaka: a five-lap ride in an AE86 with a professional driver, then 8 to 10 laps at the wheel of a Mazda Roadster, at a campaign price of ¥60,000 tax included (listed at ¥110,000). It runs on scheduled sessions only, from MR.HIRO CAR STUDIO in Osaka with a shuttle to a private venue that cannot be reached on your own, and it takes card prepayment. On 4 November 2026 its booking page listed three sessions: 30 November (7 spots left), 14 December and 28 December (10 spots each). Riders must be 12 or older and drivers 21 or older with driving experience. Its terms state the service carries no insurance cover of any kind.

Around Nagoya, the circuits sell drift running by the hour, but only to people who bring a car:

  • Suzuka Twin Circuit (Mie) takes free-run bookings by phone only, on 059-372-2401 between 9:00 and 16:00, and the line closes at 16:00 the day before (two days before if the day before is a closed day). A same-day entry is possible if a slot is free, at the same-day rate. Next month’s timetable goes up around the 10th, and bookings open after that. Drivers must be 18 or older and show a physical driving licence; a photo on a phone is refused.
  • Motorland Mikawa (Aichi) takes phone bookings up to three days before at ¥4,000 for the first hour, and sells the same hour on the day at ¥4,500, with ¥3,000 for each hour after. It does not accept bookings by email.
  • YZ Circuit East (Gifu) takes free-run bookings by email only, from 30 days before up to the day itself. On weekdays, slots from 5G (13:00) onwards open only if someone has booked by 08:00 that morning, so turning up unbooked can mean a closed track. On 4 November 2026 its weekly schedule showed the road course privately hired on every open day from 4 to 9 November, which is a good reminder to read the week before you plan around it. Our YZ Circuit East guide has the slot map.

None of these three rents a car. If you came for Okayama, the operators who bring prepared cars to Bihoku Highland Circuit are covered in the same rental guide.

Further afield, Motorland Kijo (Miyazaki) sells the cheapest coached hour we have found in Japan, ¥10,000 per person in the venue’s own kei car (軽自動車, Japan’s sub-660 cc class), bookable in English on Activity Japan. Its deadline is 06:59 three days before, the shortest stated lead time for a supplied car you drive yourself.

How much does short-notice drifting cost?

The price usually goes up, not down, as the date gets closer. The tiers below are the official figures for each route, all checked on 4 November 2026.

TierExample (venue, prefecture)Official priceLead time
Self-arranged, own carMotorland Mikawa (Aichi), first hour on the day¥4,500 (¥4,000 booked 3 days ahead)Same day
Self-arranged, own carMobara Twin Circuit (Chiba), half day on the day¥8,500 (full day ¥16,000 on the day, ¥15,000 booked 7 days ahead)Same day, if not full
Walk-in rideHot Lap, The Sideways Experience at Ebisu (Fukushima)¥25,000 + ¥2,200 entrySame day, message first
Packaged ride, booked aheadDrift Taxi, Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima)¥50,000 per car (up to 3) + ¥500 insurance each10 days
Packaged drive, booked aheadEX hour, Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba)¥45,000 weekday / ¥50,000 weekend and holiday + ¥10,000 membership paymentAdvance booking
Packaged ride and driveMR.HIRO DRIFT, Osaka¥60,000 campaign priceScheduled dates
Arranged for youAny of the above, booked, confirmed and timed around your tripActual cost + fee; we quote the total up frontDepends on the venue’s own deadline

For every rung of the ride ladder, including the Tokyo hotel-pickup packages, see our guide to riding in a drift car in Japan. To see which circuits have a drift day on your dates, start from the Drift Japan Event & Track Calendar.

Have these ready before you ask anyone

  • Every date you are free, and the city you will be in on each one
  • How many people will ride, and how many want to drive
  • Whether anyone in the group has a road-registered car in Japan (a hire car does not count)
  • Your home driving licence and International Driving Permit, if anyone wants to drive
  • A phone that can receive a call or message from Japan on the day

Where does short-notice booking usually get stuck?

At the channel, not the price. The Drift Taxi’s ten-day request window is the one deadline written in English. Almost everything else is a Japanese phone line with a cut-off of 16:00 the day before (Suzuka Twin), a Japanese email that has to land by 08:00 on the morning itself (YZ East), a member registration on a Japanese reservation site (Minami Chiba), or a hire form that goes by post or fax (Meihan). From a hotel room with a day or two to spare, and no Japanese, most visitors cannot get those calls and emails done before the cut-off.

The deadline is in Japanese and it is tomorrow

That last step is the part we take on: we make the calls and send the Japanese emails inside each venue's cut-off, check which days in your window still have space, and confirm the day before that the session is running. Short notice? Tell us your dates and city and we'll find the nearest day you can still get on.

If none of the dates work this trip, the Track Directory lists every venue’s booking channel, so you can plan the next one with the lead times in hand.

Frequently asked questions

Can I go drifting in Japan tomorrow?

Only a few options work the next day, as of 4 November 2026. The Sideways Experience at Ebisu Circuit in Fukushima accepts walk-ins for its ¥25,000 Hot Lap passenger ride (minimum three laps, plus ¥2,200 circuit entry), but asks you to email or message first so staff are not away at an event; bookings run 9:00 to 15:00. Ebisu Circuit's own Drift Taxi cannot be booked for tomorrow, because requests close at 17:00 ten days before the ride. Minami Chiba Circuit in Chiba requires an advance booking for its rental drift hour and does not take same-day walk-ins. If you have your own road-registered car, Suzuka Twin Circuit in Mie takes phone bookings until 16:00 the day before and same-day entries when a slot is free.

How far in advance do I need to book Ebisu's Drift Taxi?

At least ten days. As of 4 November 2026, Ebisu Circuit's Drift Taxi in Fukushima is sold in English through Fukushima Prefecture's tourism association as a request booking, and requests close at 17:00 Japan time ten days before the ride. It costs ¥50,000 per car for up to three passengers plus ¥500 insurance per person, lasts 45 minutes, runs at 9:00, 11:00 and 14:00, and is not offered on Wednesdays. Cancellation is free until 17:00 five days before the ride.

Can I do a drift experience near Osaka at short notice?

Not on demand, as of 4 November 2026. Meihan Sportsland in Nara, the main drift track near Osaka, limits its general walk-up running to karts and motorcycles, so cars only run there on an organiser's drift day or a private course hire, and the hire page lists post, fax or the reception window as the only booking channels. The one ride-and-drive package sold in Osaka, MR.HIRO DRIFT, runs on scheduled session dates from its studio with a shuttle to a private venue; the sessions open for booking on 4 November 2026 were 30 November, 14 December and 28 December 2026.

Can I walk in and drift at Minami Chiba Circuit without booking?

No. As of 4 November 2026, Minami Chiba Circuit in Ichihara, Chiba, states in its FAQ that every session needs an advance booking and that same-day reception is only for additional running. Its one-hour rental drift experience (EX) in a Mazda Roadster costs ¥45,000 on weekdays and ¥50,000 at weekends and holidays, tax included, and is booked on the circuit's Japanese-language reservation site after a member registration with a ¥10,000 membership payment made in advance.

This report is provided for general information. Event dates, entry fees, track rules and car prices change quickly. Always confirm current details with the official sources listed above before travelling or spending money. TSUISO is not affiliated with any circuit, organiser or shop mentioned. Drive on circuits, not on public roads.

Drift Japan Monthly: where you can drive, ride along or watch drifting in Japan in the month ahead, with prices and how to book.