A child in a yellow full-face helmet and neck collar holding the wheel of a go-kart, with other karts parked behind. A kart track, not a drift car, location not identified
🛣 Tracks & Access TOKYO — Oct 30, 2026

Can Kids Ride or Drive at a Drift Track in Japan? Age Limits (2026)

By Published Oct 30, 2026 Updated Oct 30, 2026 11 min read

The Rundown

  • A child can ride as a passenger in Ebisu Circuit's Drift Taxi (Fukushima) from a height of 140 cm, with no age limit stated; the car costs ¥50,000 for up to three riders plus ¥500 insurance each (official booking page, 30 October 2026).
  • A child can drive a drift car with no licence at Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba) from 150 cm tall, with age not asked, for ¥45,000 on weekdays or ¥50,000 at weekends and holidays; for a minor, the parent has to do the circuit's member registration.
  • Motorland Kijo (Miyazaki) sells the cheapest child-eligible hour at the wheel: ¥10,000 per person for ages 13 to 90 in the venue's own kei car with an instructor beside the driver.
  • Riding with an ordinary entrant is stricter: YZ Circuit East (Gifu) allows passenger rides only from high-school age (roughly 15 and up), and Fuji Speedway Drift Park (Shizuoka) requires the passenger to hold a Fuji Speedway licence too.
  • Watching is cheap or free for children: junior-high age and under get in free at Fuji Speedway and Bihoku Highland Circuit, and Ebisu charges ¥1,200 for ages 3 to 12 against ¥1,700 for an adult.
Contents
  1. Which drift experiences can a child join, venue by venue?
  2. Can my child ride as a passenger?
  3. Can a teenager drive a drift car without a licence?
  4. Which rule applies to which age?
  5. Can children watch drifting, and how much is it?

Kids at a Japanese drift track

Cheapest child-eligible drive¥10,000Motorland Kijo, 1 hr, ages 13–90 (checked 30 Oct 2026)
Ride as a passenger140 cmEbisu Drift Taxi and Rusutsu snow ride; no age stated
Drive with no licence150 cmMinami Chiba rental drift hour, any age
Ride with an entrant at YZHigh school+YZ Circuit East's own free-run rule
Under-18 car hireParent signsThe Sideways Experience at Ebisu, parent present
WatchingFree–¥1,200free to junior-high age at Fuji and Bihoku; ¥1,200 child at Ebisu

Yes, children can ride in a drift car in Japan, and some can drive one, but the deciding rule is usually height rather than age. Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) takes Drift Taxi riders from 140 cm, Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba) lets anyone 150 cm or taller drive its rental drift car with no licence and no age limit, and Motorland Kijo (Miyazaki) sells a coached drive to ages 13 to 90 for ¥10,000. Every limit below was read off the venue’s or operator’s own page on 30 October 2026.

The question reached us from a family travelling with teenagers between 11 and 17, and the honest answer is that each child in that range gets a different list. The English-language drift listings rarely print an age line at all, and the circuits that do print one put it in Japanese, halfway down a fee sheet. Here they are side by side, with “not stated” wherever the official page is silent.

Which drift experiences can a child join, venue by venue?

This is every child-relevant rule we found on an official page. “Not stated” means the page we read says nothing either way, so the operator decides on the day; it does not mean “allowed”.

Venue (prefecture)What the child doesStated age / heightGuardian ruleOfficial price
Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima): Drift TaxiPassenger, front or back seat, up to 3 per car140 cm minimum; no age statedNot stated¥50,000 per car + ¥500 insurance per person
Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima): Hot Laps by The Sideways ExperiencePassenger, one rider at a time”No explicit age restriction”; must fit the seatbeltNot stated¥25,000 for 3 laps + ¥2,200 entry per person
Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima): The Sideways Experience car hireDrives a hired 350Z or JZX100No age limit; must reach the pedals and fit the harness and helmetUnder 18: parent present and signsFrom ¥125,000 per half day (350Z)
Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba): rental drift experienceDrives a Mazda Roadster, instructor alongside150 cm minimum; age and gender not asked; no licenceMinor’s member registration done by the parent¥45,000 weekday / ¥50,000 weekend and holiday
Motorland Kijo (Miyazaki): 1-hour drift planDrives a kei car, instructor in the passenger seatAges 13–90 (“junior high school students and above”)Not stated; tell them the child’s ageFrom ¥10,000 per person
YZ Circuit East (Gifu): free runningPassenger with an entrantHigh-school students and aboveNot statedNot stated; ¥500 gate from high-school age
Mobara Twin Circuit (Chiba): circuit-run drift dayPassenger with an entrant; cannot driveNot statedNot stated¥1,500 ride-along
Nikko Circuit (Tochigi): HYPER DRIVE school dayPassenger, first 20 peopleNot statedNot stated¥500, cash on the day
Fuji Speedway Drift Park (Shizuoka)Passenger with a licence memberPassenger must hold a Fuji Speedway licenceNot statedNot stated
Rusutsu Resort (Hokkaido): snow drifting, winter onlyPassenger, or back seat on a driving course140 cm minimum (for the seatbelt)Not stated; participants sign a waiverFrom ¥11,000 per person ride-along (groups of 6+)

Two of those rows are worth reading twice. At Ebisu’s Hot Laps, the three laps in the ¥25,000 fee “can be split between multiple participants”, so a family of siblings can share one booking, one rider at a time, each paying the ¥2,200 passenger entry at the gate. And at Rusutsu, the snow driving courses sell a back-seat place (¥20,000 on the 75-minute course, ¥10,000 on the 30-minute introduction, up to two per car), which is the one product we found where a licence-holding parent drives and a child rides along in the same session.

Can my child ride as a passenger?

For most families this is the realistic rung, and the 140 cm line is the one to plan around.

Ebisu Circuit’s Drift Taxi is the clearest. Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association sells it in English as a 45-minute ride, ¥50,000 per car for up to three passengers, with a drift school driver at the wheel and riders in the passenger and back seats. The page states one restriction: “Only people who are 140 cm and over in height are allowed to ride.” No age limit is printed. Insurance is ¥500 per person on top.

Ebisu’s Hot Laps, run by The Sideways Experience and resold by the same tourism association, puts the rule differently: there is “no explicit age restriction”, but the rider must be able to sit in the passenger seat and be strapped in by the seatbelt. No height figure is given, so if your child is small for their age, ask before you travel rather than at the gate.

Riding with an ordinary entrant is where the doors start closing. YZ Circuit East’s free-run rules say dōjō sōkō (同乗走行, riding as a passenger) is for high-school students and above, which in Japan means roughly 15 and older. Fuji Speedway Drift Park allows a passenger only if the passenger also holds a Fuji Speedway driving licence. Nikko Circuit’s own rules say a kei-car passenger on its sports-running days must be on that day’s entry list as a driver. Mobara Twin Circuit lists a ¥1,500 ride-along on its own drift days without any age line, and HYPER DRIVE’s ¥500 one-coin ride on its Nikko and Fuji school days prints no age either, only a dress code (long sleeves, long trousers, full gloves, flat shoes and a helmet, with rental helmets available) and a line that it takes no responsibility for death or injury in a crash during the ride.

Don't let a child ask strangers for a ride

Ebisu's 2026 Drift Matsuri page asks spectators to stop approaching drivers for passenger rides: most entrants are private enthusiasts, not professionals, and the circuit says riding with someone you do not know may lead to accidents or trouble. Anyone who does ride during drift runs must take the ¥500 passenger insurance.

For the full price ladder of passenger seats for adults, including Mobara and the Tokyo pickup packages, see our guide to riding in a drift car in Japan.

Can a teenager drive a drift car without a licence?

Yes, at two places, and they split neatly by age and height.

Motorland Kijo in Miyazaki is the cheapest and the only one with an age written as a number: its one-hour plan on Activity Japan is open to ages 13 to 90, “junior high school students and above”, from ¥10,000 per person. The car is the venue’s own kei car (軽自動車, Japan’s sub-660 cc class) on special tyres, a licensed instructor sits in the passenger seat, six runs are guaranteed in the hour, and the plan states no on-site licence is required. The page lists the activity as “Children welcome” and asks you to give your child’s age when you book. Booking is in English and closes at 06:59 three days before.

Minami Chiba Circuit in Chiba has no age line at all. Its rental drift page says that anyone 150 cm or taller can take part regardless of age or gender, with no driving licence or circuit licence needed. The hour is in a Mazda Roadster with an instructor riding along, priced at ¥45,000 on weekdays and ¥50,000 at weekends and public holidays, tax included, covering the car, fuel, tyres and track time. Four or more people are treated as an exclusive hire. The page also asks riders to take a yoidome (酔い止め, motion-sickness tablet) before coming if they can, which is worth knowing with a teenager in tow.

The catch is the paperwork. The circuit asks that a minor’s booking is made by the shinkensha (親権者, the person with parental authority) registering as a member. Membership means paying a ¥10,000 joining credit that is not refundable and is used against bookings; ¥2,000 of it goes when you book the slot, and the balance of ¥43,000 (¥48,000 at weekends and holidays) is paid at reception. The rental page, the instructions and the reservation site are all in Japanese only, with no English version on either.

The parent's sign-up at Minami Chiba is in Japanese

That member registration, the deposit and the slot booking all sit in a Japanese-only system, and for an under-18 driver it has to be done in the parent's name. We take that part on: we make the registration with you, book the slot that fits your dates, and check the day before that the session is still running. Plan a family drift day at Minami Chiba with us, and tell us each child's age and height when you write.

The Sideways Experience at Ebisu is the upper end. Its FAQ says there is no age restriction for hiring a drift car: the driver must be able to reach the pedals, fit the harnesses and a helmet, and be comfortable, and for anyone under 18 it asks for a parent to be present and sign. A half day in its 350Z is ¥125,000, a full day ¥175,000, with an additional driver ¥10,000 each and up to three drivers per car, so a parent and a teenager can share one car. Ebisu circuit entry is extra. Whether a home driving licence is expected for an under-18 hirer is not stated on the pages we read; our licence and IDP guide covers what adults need.

Elsewhere, the written rules point the other way. Suzuka Twin Circuit (Mie) lists four-wheel free running for driving-licence holders aged 18 and over; its rules add that someone without a licence may be admitted by joining its members’ club after phoning ahead, and that an under-18 applicant must come with a parent who signs and stamps the form, but they do not say whether that route covers four-wheel cars. Mobara’s own drift days are limited to driving-licence holders, with anyone else judged on their competition or circuit record.

Which rule applies to which age?

Read across from your child’s age and height. Japanese school years start in April, so “junior high” is roughly 12 to 15 and “high school” roughly 15 to 18.

ChildCan ride (official rule)Can drive (official rule)
11–12, under 140 cmEbisu Hot Laps if the seatbelt fitsNone found
11–12, 140–149 cmEbisu Drift Taxi, Ebisu Hot Laps, Rusutsu (winter)None found
11–12, 150 cm+As aboveMinami Chiba rental drift hour
13–14As aboveMotorland Kijo; Minami Chiba if 150 cm+
15–17 (high school)As above, plus YZ Circuit East with an entrantMotorland Kijo; Minami Chiba if 150 cm+; Sideways car hire with a parent signing

If a younger child wants to drive something, Mobara Twin Circuit’s front page advertises rental karts from 150 cm with no driving licence, plus two-seater karts for small children. That is karting, not drifting, but it is on the same site as a drift venue.

Can children watch drifting, and how much is it?

Watching is the rung every child can join, and it is often free for them. These are the ordinary-day gate prices on each circuit’s own page; event days are priced separately almost everywhere.

Venue (prefecture)AdultChild
Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima), ordinary day¥1,700 (12+, junior high and up)¥1,200 (ages 3–12)
Ebisu Circuit, spring and summer Drift Matsuri¥2,500¥1,200 (age 3 to elementary school)
Fuji Speedway (Shizuoka)¥1,200 (18+); ¥900 high schoolFree, junior high and under
Bihoku Highland Circuit (Okayama)¥500 (high school and up)Free, junior high and under
YZ Circuit East (Gifu)¥500 (high school and up)Fee listed only from high school
Suzuka Twin Circuit (Mie)¥500 weekdays / ¥1,000 weekends (high school and up)Fee listed only from high school
Mobara Twin Circuit (Chiba)Free weekdays, ¥500 weekends; ¥500–1,000 on East course drift event daysFree up to elementary school on those event days
Nikko Circuit (Tochigi)General spectators restrictedSame

Note the age step at Ebisu: a 12-year-old pays the adult rate there, because the child fare (shōnin, 小人) stops at elementary school. Ebisu’s matsuri page also warns the autumn festival price may change from the figures above. Ear protection, under-3 entry at Ebisu and children in the pits are not covered on any official page we read, so bring ear defenders anyway and ask before taking a child into a paddock. For every venue’s spectator rules and how to get there without a car, see our practice-day gate fee guide or browse the venues in the Track Directory.

Before you pay, for each child

  • Height in centimetres, measured, not guessed
  • Age on the day of the ride, and which school year that is in Japan
  • Who signs: a parent on site (Sideways at Ebisu, Suzuka Twin) or a parent's member registration (Minami Chiba)
  • Passenger insurance: ¥500 per person at Ebisu
  • Clothes: long sleeves, long trousers and flat closed shoes are standard for riders too

One practical note for families driving to Minami Chiba: its reservation site currently warns that prefectural road 20 in front of the circuit cannot be climbed from the Mobara side after a road collapse, so approach from the Ichihara and Chiba side. Our Minami Chiba access guide covers the trip without a car.

Frequently asked questions

Can a 12-year-old ride in a drift car in Japan?

Yes, at a few places, as long as the child is tall enough. As of 30 October 2026, Ebisu Circuit's Drift Taxi in Fukushima, booked through Fukushima Prefecture's tourism association, admits riders who are 140 cm or taller with no age limit stated, at ¥50,000 per car for up to three passengers plus ¥500 insurance each. The Hot Laps run by The Sideways Experience at the same circuit state no explicit age restriction, only that the rider must sit in the passenger seat and be strapped in by the seatbelt; it costs ¥25,000 for three laps plus ¥2,200 circuit entry per person. In winter, Rusutsu Resort in Hokkaido runs a snow drift ride-along with a 140 cm minimum height. YZ Circuit East in Gifu does not suit a 12-year-old: its passenger rides start at high-school age.

Can a 13-year-old drive a drift car in Japan without a driving licence?

Yes, at two venues, as of 30 October 2026. Motorland Kijo in Miyazaki sells a one-hour drift plan for ages 13 to 90 at ¥10,000 per person, in the venue's own kei car on low-grip tyres with an instructor in the passenger seat, and states no on-site licence is needed. Minami Chiba Circuit in Chiba sells a 60-minute rental drift experience in a Mazda Roadster with an instructor alongside, open to anyone 150 cm or taller regardless of age, with no driving licence needed, at ¥45,000 on weekdays and ¥50,000 at weekends and holidays, tax included. For a minor at Minami Chiba, the parent has to complete the member registration.

Do children need a parent's signature to drift at a Japanese circuit?

At some venues, and the rule is written differently at each. As of 30 October 2026, The Sideways Experience at Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) asks for a parent to be present and sign for anyone under 18 hiring its drift cars. Minami Chiba Circuit (Chiba) asks that a minor's member registration is done by the person with parental authority. Suzuka Twin Circuit (Mie) requires a parent to come along and sign and stamp the membership form for anyone under 18 joining its members' club. Ebisu's Drift Taxi page, Motorland Kijo's plan page and Mobara Twin Circuit's ride-along fee sheet state no guardian rule.

Do kids pay to watch drifting in Japan?

Usually less than adults, and often nothing. As of 30 October 2026, Fuji Speedway (Shizuoka) and Bihoku Highland Circuit (Okayama) let junior-high age and under in free, while YZ Circuit East (Gifu) and Suzuka Twin Circuit (Mie) charge their gate fee from high-school age. Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) charges ¥1,200 for a child aged 3 to 12 against ¥1,700 for an adult on ordinary days, and ¥1,200 against ¥2,500 at the spring and summer Drift Matsuri. Mobara Twin Circuit (Chiba) lists free entry up to elementary-school age on its drift event days. Nikko Circuit (Tochigi) restricts general spectators.

This report is provided for general information. Event dates, entry fees, track rules and car prices change quickly. Always confirm current details with the official sources listed above before travelling or spending money. TSUISO is not affiliated with any circuit, organiser or shop mentioned. Drive on circuits, not on public roads.

Drift Japan Monthly: where you can drive, ride along or watch drifting in Japan in the month ahead, with prices and how to book.