Drift Trip to Japan in February 2027: What's Open, What's Shut
The Rundown
- Osaka Auto Messe 2027, the 30th edition, runs on 12, 13 and 14 February 2027 (Friday to Sunday) at INTEX Osaka, 9:00-18:00. The 2027 ticket price is not officially stated yet; the 2026 show charged ¥3,000 in advance and ¥3,500 on the day.
- Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) stays on its winter tariff until 31 March: ¥5,500 for a full drift day or ¥3,500 for a half day, insurance included. Its February 2027 driving calendar goes up around 23 January 2027.
- Bihoku Highland Circuit (Okayama) cuts its free-run prices in January and February: A course ¥4,000 instead of ¥5,000, B course ¥5,500 instead of ¥6,500, plus ¥500 entry.
- For real snow, Shin-Chitose Motorland (Hokkaido) runs a snow season from December to February: ¥5,500 for a weekday half-day in your own car on studless tyres, or rental snow drift from ¥2,200 for three laps.
- Okuibuki Motor Park (Shiga) is shut all February. Its areas open early April to late November, and web booking for the season opens on 1 March at 0:00.
Contents
February 2027. The numbers that shape the trip
February 2027 gives you one big show and three ways to drive. Osaka Auto Messe 2027 runs on 12, 13 and 14 February at INTEX Osaka, 9:00 to 18:00, though the 2027 ticket price is not out yet. On track, Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) drifts at ¥5,500 a day, Bihoku Highland Circuit (Okayama) runs a ¥4,000 winter free-run, and Shin-Chitose Motorland (Hokkaido) sells snow drift from ¥5,500 a half-day. Every date and price here was checked on the official pages on 17 October 2026.
Our January planner is built around Tokyo Auto Salon. February moves the show to Osaka and puts real snow on the menu. The general case for winter driving, tyre life and quiet paddocks included, is in our winter drifting guide. Fixed dates as they land go on our event calendar.
When is Osaka Auto Messe 2027, and what does a ticket cost?
The organiser has published the basics. This is the 30th Osaka Auto Messe, a dress-up and tuning car show held every year since 1997.
| Item | Osaka Auto Messe 2027 |
|---|---|
| Dates | Fri 12, Sat 13, Sun 14 February 2027 |
| Hours | 9:00–18:00. Friday 9:00–13:00 is a “silent time” with no sound-system PR |
| Venue | INTEX Osaka, 1-5-102 Nanko-kita, Suminoe-ku, Osaka |
| Nearest stations | Naka-futo (Nanko Port Town line), about 5 min walk; Cosmosquare (Chuo line), about 9 min |
| 2027 ticket price | Not officially stated (checked 17 Oct 2026) |
| 2026 ticket, for reference | ¥3,000 advance, ¥3,500 on the day; U-22 ¥2,000 / ¥2,500 |
The ticket page on the 2027 site still carries the 2026 sale. Last year a general ticket was valid on any one day, there was no re-entry, and one child of junior-high age or under went in free with each paying adult. Advance sales opened on 1 December 2025. Expect a similar pattern, but do not budget on it until the 2027 page changes.
Nagoya Auto Trend is TBC
We found no organiser page with a 2027 date. The venue, Port Messe Nagoya, lists events about two months ahead, so its February 2027 calendar was empty on 17 October 2026. Do not book flights around it yet.
Which circuits are open in February, and which are shut?
February is mid-winter. Mountain venues get snow, and some shut for the season. Here is where each one stood on 17 October 2026.
| Venue | February status | Cost | What is published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) | Open, winter tariff, closed Wednesdays | ¥5,500 full day, ¥3,500 half day, insurance included | February calendar due around 23 Jan 2027 |
| Bihoku Highland Circuit (Okayama) | Open, January–February winter rates | A course ¥4,000, B course ¥5,500, entry ¥500 | Hire bookings by phone and FAX only |
| Meihan Sportsland (Nara) | Organiser days only, closed Thursdays | Set by each organiser | February 2027 sheet not out |
| Okuibuki Motor Park (Shiga) | Closed | n/a | Season early April to late November |
| Mobara Twin Circuit (Chiba) | Not stated | Not stated for February | Schedules up to December 2026 only |
| Nikko Circuit (Tochigi) | Not stated | Not stated for February | Calendars up to November 2026 only |
Two things stand out. Ebisu’s winter tariff runs from 1 December to 31 March, so February is fully inside it, and the price page says there are no refunds for weather. Bihoku’s discount is shorter: the brackets on its price list apply to January and February only.
Meihan is worth a closer look. Its February 2026 sheet marked drift on seven days, and every one was a weekday group booking. None fell on a Saturday or Sunday. That sheet also says that in January and February, on weekends and holidays with no event, the gate opens at 7:00, or 8:00 in bad weather. Our Kansai guide explains how organiser days there work.
Can you drift on snow in February?
Yes, but in Hokkaido, not on Honshu circuits. Ebisu does get snow some winters, but whether you get a snow day is luck.
Shin-Chitose Motorland (Hokkaido) plans for it. Its summer season runs March to November, and its winter season, December to February, turns the site into a snow and ice circuit.
| Shin-Chitose snow option | Price |
|---|---|
| Own car, weekday half-day (studless tyres only) | ¥5,500 |
| Own car, weekend or holiday half-day | ¥7,700 |
| Rental snow drift | ¥2,200 for 3 laps, ¥4,400 for 10 min, ¥16,500 for 60 min |
| Passenger in a rental car | ¥2,200 per person |
| Interpreter (bookable option) | ¥5,000 for up to 2 hours |
| Spectator entry | ¥700 |
Half-days run 9:00 to 12:00 and 13:00 to 16:00, and booking is required. The rental needs an ordinary driving licence. Tokachi Speedway (Hokkaido) is the other snow venue: its ice course opens from the third Monday of January to about 20 February, by whole-day hire only at ¥250,000 to ¥650,000. Hirers who want a custom layout are asked to make contact between late October and early November, so that window is closing now. Our Hokkaido guide covers both venues in full.
Is there a drift competition in February 2027?
Not a confirmed one. As of 17 October 2026, neither D1 nor Formula Drift Japan had published a 2027 calendar. No D1 Grand Prix, D1 Lights, FDJ, FDJ2 or FDJ3 round has a February date. If you see one on a third-party site, treat it as a guess until a series page carries it.
What has to be booked in Japanese before you fly?
Bihoku is the cheapest winter drive on Honshu, and its booking is the catch. The official price page says course hire is booked by telephone and FAX, with a deadline of three days ahead on a weekday and one week ahead at weekends for the A course. The site is in Japanese. From abroad, that is a phone call in Japanese during Japanese office hours.
The phone and FAX step
Bihoku's phone-and-FAX booking, and turning Ebisu's Japanese PDF calendar into a confirmed day, are the steps that stop most February trips. We handle that part for you. Send us your February dates and get your drift days in Japan lined up.
Which future dates should you put in your phone?
February 2027 deadlines
- Late October to early November 2026: Tokachi Speedway's window for winter layout requests
- Around 1 December 2026: check Osaka Auto Messe for the 2027 ticket sale (the 2026 sale opened 1 December 2025)
- Around 23 January 2027: Ebisu posts its February driving calendar
- 12–14 February 2027: Osaka Auto Messe at INTEX Osaka
- 1 March 2027, 0:00: Okuibuki opens web booking for the new season
The show dates are the only hard points in February 2027. Everything on a circuit firms up a few weeks before, so keep one spare day in the plan for snow, and carry cash for the gate.
Frequently asked questions
When is Osaka Auto Messe 2027 and how much are tickets?
Osaka Auto Messe 2027 runs on Friday 12, Saturday 13 and Sunday 14 February 2027 at INTEX Osaka in Suminoe-ku, Osaka, from 9:00 to 18:00 each day. The 2027 ticket price and sale date are not officially stated as of 17 October 2026. For reference, the 2026 show charged ¥3,000 in advance and ¥3,500 on the day for a general ticket, with advance sales opening on 1 December 2025, and one ticket covered any single day.
Can I drift in Japan in February 2027?
Yes. Ebisu Circuit (Fukushima) runs through winter at ¥5,500 for a full drift day or ¥3,500 for a half day, insurance included, until 31 March, and is closed on Wednesdays. Bihoku Highland Circuit (Okayama) charges a winter free-run rate of ¥4,000 on the A course and ¥5,500 on the B course in January and February. Okuibuki Motor Park (Shiga) is closed until early April. Exact February 2027 running days were not published at any of these circuits as of 17 October 2026.
Can I drift on snow in Japan in February?
Yes, in Hokkaido. Shin-Chitose Motorland (Hokkaido) runs its winter season from December to February on snow. A half-day in your own car on studless tyres costs ¥5,500 on a weekday and ¥7,700 at weekends and holidays, and its rental snow drift costs ¥2,200 for three laps up to ¥16,500 for an hour, with an ordinary driving licence required. Tokachi Speedway (Hokkaido) opens a winter ice course from the third Monday of January to about 20 February, by whole-day hire only at ¥250,000 to ¥650,000. Prices as of 17 October 2026.
Is there a D1 or Formula Drift Japan round in February 2027?
None is confirmed. As of 17 October 2026, neither the D1 official website nor the Formula Drift Japan official site had published a 2027 calendar, so no D1 Grand Prix, D1 Lights, FDJ, FDJ2 or FDJ3 round has a February 2027 date. February is traditionally the off-season, and the car show in Osaka is the fixed event of the month.
Is Nagoya Auto Trend on in February 2027?
Not officially stated as of 17 October 2026. We found no organiser page with a 2027 date, and the venue, Port Messe Nagoya, says it lists events about two months ahead, so its February 2027 calendar was still empty. Treat it as TBC and check again in December 2026.