Can You Drift at Gunsai? Every Car Day You Can Enter (2026)
The Rundown
- Gunma Cycle Sports Center (Gunma), called Gunsai, sells no walk-up car entry: its 6 km road course is bicycles only in normal operation, and cars run only on hired days or organised events, as of 3 October 2026.
- Six car days between 15 October and 1 November 2026 take entries from individual drivers, priced from ¥8,000 (Gunsai's own half-day free run on 31 October) to ¥15,000 (TK Club's drift basics day on 21 October).
- The five organiser days are 15 October on the multipurpose square, 17 October in the temporary car park (entries close 12 October), 21 October drift basics, and two on 1 November: the touge C course, and a beginners-only basics day capped at 10 cars.
- All 6 days need your own road-legal car, a helmet that covers your ears, gloves, long sleeves and trousers, and none of the 6 announcements, checked on 3 October 2026, says whether a foreign driver can enter.
- Hiring the venue yourself starts at ¥44,000 for the temporary car park on a weekday (up to 5 cars) and reaches ¥440,000 for the full 6 km course on a normal-season weekday, ¥660,000 at weekends.
Contents
Gunsai at a glance
Yes, but only on a hired or organised day. Gunma Cycle Sports Center (Gunma), known in the drift scene as Gunsai (群サイ), keeps its 6 km mountain road course for bicycles in normal operation, so there is no walk-up car entry. Between 15 October and 1 November 2026, six car days take entries from individual drivers for ¥8,000 to ¥15,000, and every date and price below was checked on the official pages on 3 October 2026.
Gunsai is a cycling park on a mountain in Minakami, with a one-way road course that the scene treats as the closest thing to a legal touge (mountain pass). Our legal touge guide explains why it is special. This page is about how you, as a visitor, actually get a run there this autumn.
Why can’t you just turn up and drive?
The venue’s fee page says it plainly: the circuit course is 通常自転車のみのご利用, bicycles only in normal use. To drive a car or ride a motorbike there, you either hire a course or join an event run by a shop. That is why Gunsai drift days never show on a public free-run calendar.
The venue does point drivers to two flat areas. Its facility page calls both the temporary car park and the multipurpose square ideal for gymkhana and drift days (ジムカーナやドリフトの走行会に最適). Most of the drift practice below happens there, not on the road course.
Which drift days can you enter in October and November 2026?
| Date | Organiser | Where on the site | Fee per driver | Entry closes | How to enter |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thu 15 Oct | YUICHI (@masudy_01), with たあぼう塾 | Multipurpose square: skidpad, figure-eight, simple drift course | About ¥10,000 | Not stated; “only a few places left” on 14 Sep | Organiser’s X post, Japanese |
| Sat 17 Oct | PITMAN, a Saitama shop | Temporary car park: skidpad, figure-eight, kick and handbrake entries, chase runs | ¥10,000 incl. lunch | 12 Oct | Organiser’s X post, Japanese |
| Wed 21 Oct | TK Club | Drift basics Level 0: skidpad circles, figure-eights, handbrake turns | ¥15,000 | Pay within 3 days of the form | Japanese web form |
| Sat 31 Oct | Gunsai itself | Free run on the 6 km course, about 30 cars | ¥13,000 day / ¥8,000 half day | 2 days before for lunch; same-day entry taken | Japanese web form |
| Sun 1 Nov | MFG (@38kens) | Touge C course, grip or drift, any car | ¥12,000, rising from about 10 Oct | Not stated | LINE or X DM, Japanese |
| Sun 1 Nov | @38kens | In front of the control tower, 10 cars, beginners only | ¥10,000 | First come | X DM, Japanese |
Two notes on that table. Gunsai’s own free run is the only one on the full 6 km road, and its guide talks about running at your own level with no timing. It does not mention drifting either way, so treat drift on that day as TBC. And TK Club runs a Level 0.5 day at Gunsai on 6 December for ¥15,000 if October does not work.
"[Gunsai] Touge C course on Sunday 1 November. Beginners welcome at MFG-so! Grip or drift, any car. Small numbers, so you can run the legal pass until you are sick of it. Date: 1 Nov (Sun). Place: Gunsai. Cost: ¥12,000 (price rise planned from around 10 Oct). If you want to run, message us early on LINE or DM."
【群サイ】11月1日(日)峠Cコース開催🏁 初心者歓迎のMFG走!グリップ・ドリフト問わず車種自由🚗少人数なので飽きるほど合法峠を走れます💨 日時:11/1(日) 場所:群サイ 費用:12,000円(10/10頃〜値上げ予定🦆) 走りたい方はお早めにLINEかDMへ📩
View the original post ↗What gets in the way for a visitor?
The money is not the problem. The entry is. Every one of these days is announced in Japanese on an organiser’s own X account or website, and nothing appears on the venue’s booking calendar. Entry is by Japanese DM, LINE or a Japanese web form, and TK Club’s form makes you liable for the fee the moment you send it. Not one of the six announcements says whether a driver from overseas can enter, so someone has to ask the organiser before you commit.
The entry is a Japanese conversation
Finding the right day, asking the organiser whether a foreign driver can join, and getting your name on a 10-car or 13-car list all happen in Japanese, by DM or LINE. Send us your dates and the day you want, and we take that conversation on. Get a place on a Gunsai car day with us: we handle the Japanese entry and the organiser's questions.
The second gap is the car. None of the six days mentions a car for hire, and Gunsai’s free run asks for a road-legal car or kei car and an ordinary driving licence. Whether an International Driving Permit counts is not stated; our licence and IDP guide covers what Japan accepts on the road to get there.
What are the rules on the day?
Gunsai’s terms apply to every organiser. The gate opens at 8:00, the course runs 9:00 to 16:00, and the car park and square stop for lunch from 12:00 to 13:00. You must be off site by 17:30. The noise limit is 103 dB.
Read this before you post a clip
Gunsai's terms strictly ban posting videos of dangerous driving on social media. You need a helmet that covers your ears, gloves, long sleeves and trousers, and trainers (no sandals), with the driver's window fully shut. Cars driven in on temporary or dealer plates are refused.
The venue also asks drivers to go up and down the mountain slowly and quietly, because the approach roads are ordinary public roads with people living on them. It says local police have contacted it about illegally modified cars on the way in. Drift happens inside the gate and nowhere else; our guide to whether drifting is legal in Japan explains why. For flag signals and pit manners, see drift-day flags, rules and etiquette.
What does it cost, from one entry to the whole mountain?
| Option | Price (normal season, Mar–Nov) |
|---|---|
| Gunsai’s own free run, half day | ¥8,000 per car |
| Organiser drift day | ¥10,000–¥15,000 per driver |
| Gunsai’s own free run, full day | ¥13,000 per car, curry lunch included if booked and paid 2 days ahead |
| Temporary car park, weekday hire | ¥44,000 up to 5 cars, then ¥7,700 per car to ¥77,000 |
| Multipurpose square, weekday hire | ¥50,000 for 3 hours, ¥94,600 for the day |
| A course, weekday hire | ¥176,000 a day |
| Full 6 km course, weekday hire | ¥440,000 a day (¥660,000 at weekends and holidays) |
Hire bookings go by phone or web form. The desk is open 10:00 to 18:00 and closed on Mondays and Fridays, and cancelling a hire costs 20% at 31 or more days out, rising to the full fee in the last 7 days. For one visitor, an organised day is the realistic route.
How do you get there?
Gunsai’s access page gives only the address (Ōmineyama, Niimaki, Minakami, Tone District, Gunma) and phone number, 0278-64-1811, with no train or bus route. Jalan’s listing gives 20 minutes by car from the Kan-etsu Expressway’s Tsukiyono IC. Since every car day needs your own car anyway, the drive is the way in. For other Kanto venues on the same trip, see drifting in Kanto near Tokyo, the Gunma page and the Gunsai entry in the tracks directory.
Frequently asked questions
Can I drift at Gunsai as a visitor?
Only on a hired or organised day. As of 3 October 2026, Gunma Cycle Sports Center (Gunsai) in Minakami, Gunma states that its road course is for bicycles only in normal operation, and that cars must either hire a course or join a shop's event. Five organiser days and one Gunsai-run free run between 15 October and 1 November 2026 take individual entries at ¥8,000 to ¥15,000, with your own road-legal car. None says whether a foreign driver can enter.
How much does it cost to drift at Gunsai?
As of 3 October 2026, organiser days at Gunma Cycle Sports Center (Gunsai) cost ¥10,000 to ¥15,000 per driver: ¥10,000 for the 15 October square day (approximate), ¥10,000 with lunch for PITMAN on 17 October, ¥15,000 for TK Club on 21 October, and ¥12,000 or ¥10,000 for the two 1 November days. Gunsai's own free run on 31 October costs ¥13,000 a day or ¥8,000 a half day. Hiring the venue starts at ¥44,000 for the temporary car park on a weekday.
When is the next drift day at Gunsai?
As of 3 October 2026, the next car days at Gunma Cycle Sports Center (Gunsai) are 15 October (multipurpose square), 17 October (PITMAN, temporary car park, entries close 12 October), 21 October (TK Club drift basics), 31 October (Gunsai's own free run on the 6 km course) and 1 November (MFG on the touge C course, plus a 10-car beginners-only basics day). None of these appear on the venue's booking calendar; they are announced by each organiser.
Do I need my own car to drift at Gunsai?
Yes. As of 3 October 2026, none of the six car days announced at Gunma Cycle Sports Center (Gunsai) for 15 October to 1 November 2026 mentions a car for hire. Gunsai's own free run asks for a road-legal car or kei car and an ordinary driving licence, a helmet that covers your ears, gloves, long sleeves, trousers and trainers. TK Club sells slippery practice tyres on site but you bring the car.