貸出 RENTAL

Drift car rental in Japan every operator, every price

You do not need to own a car in Japan to drift one. This page lists every operator we have verified that puts a visitor in a drift car, from a ¥500 passenger seat to a ¥420,000 all-in day with your own S-chassis, with the published price in yen and US dollars, whether a licence is needed, whether you can book in English, and who pays when it hits the wall. Prices are read from each operator’s own page and dated per row; nothing here is an estimate.

Cheapest seat in a drift car¥500 HYPER DRIVE SCHOOL
Cheapest hour at the wheel¥10,000 Motorland Kijo
Best value car to yourself¥130,000 Team Orange, all-in, Ebisu
Operators selling crash coverOne everywhere else liability is uncapped
AE86 to driveNone ride-along only, anywhere in Japan
Operators with a published price18 of 19 checked 28 Sept 2026

Trip desk · we put you in the car

Half of these bookings are a phone call in Japanese, a fax, or a page nobody has touched since 2020. That is the part we do.

Tell us your dates, your level and the car you want. We confirm the operator and the date actually exist, book the car or the circuit day, sort the paperwork in Japanese, and get you from your hotel to the gate and back. If going direct is the better deal for you, we say so.

Send us your dates 》

Coached seat time in their car

You drive the operator’s car with an instructor beside you for a fixed slot: an hour, a set of runs, a 20-minute session. The first rung most visitors actually want.

Operator Where What you get Published price Licence English How you book If you crash
The Sideways Experience (SidewaysX) Nissan 350Z, Toyota JZX100, a 1JZ-swapped 350Z Car hire: no bookings through the snow months. Hot laps run in winter too, though snow can close courses Ebisu Circuit Ebisu Circuit, Fukushima Ride and Drive: 3 passenger laps, then 3 × 10 min at the wheel of a 350Z with an instructorplus a ¥3,000 driver pass; on wet Kuru Kuru Land; the rung most first-timers wantTuition daytuition is sold separately from the car hire Car, briefing and a first session on Kuru Kuru Land; you move to the other courses once you can hold donuts and figure-eights. Not included: circuit entry (¥3,000 driver pass, ¥2,200 passenger), tuition, extra tyres at ¥11,000 each, a second driver at ¥10,000. ¥60,000 (US$375) per person¥50,000 (US$313) per day Not stated on the pages we read Yes English web shop; hot-lap walk-ins are possible, but they ask you to message first. Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association also resells the hot laps as a request booking: 10 days ahead, 10:00 or 14:00, not on Wednesdays Refundable damage deposit of ¥200,000 for Touge, tandem or matsuri running; the tax position of the prices is not stated
Minami Chiba Circuit (the circuit’s own EX hour) Mazda Roadster (NA), instructor beside you Minami Chiba Circuit Minami Chiba Circuit, Ichihara, Chiba “Drift Experience EX”: one all-in coached hourweekday; ¥50,000 weekends and holidays, tax included; plus a ¥10,000 joining depositEX, weekend or public holiday Car, fuel, tyres and track time for the hour. The circuit is 1.5 hours from Tokyo and hard to reach without a car. ¥45,000 (US$281) per person¥50,000 (US$313) per person None required Japanese only Japanese-only web booking on the circuit’s reservation site (member registration first) Not published on the pages we readThe ¥16,000–18,000 figure quoted across the English internet is the old price. The current page says ¥45,000–50,000.
Tokyo hotel-pickup packages (Matenro Drift Racing and similar) Operator’s own drift car; a Nissan 350Z is common on the ride-along packages Minami Chiba Circuit Picked up in Tokyo, driven to a Chiba circuit (usually Minami Chiba) Circuit day packageMatenro private drift lesson with Tokyo pickuptax included; Matenro states no licence or International Driving Permit is required Transport from Tokyo and the day at the circuit; read the inclusions, because many listings are ride-along only and usually non-refundable. ¥109,999 (US$687) per person¥199,800 (US$1,249) per person None required Yes GetYourGuide, Klook, Viator, Rakuten or the operator’s own English shop Not published on the listings we readThere is no drift circuit in Tokyo. Every “Tokyo drift experience” is transport to Chiba, Fukushima or Shizuoka, a night cruise with no drifting, or a radio-controlled car.
HYPER DRIVE SCHOOL Rental S14 / S15 for the school place Fuji Speedway Drift Park, Minami Chiba Circuit, Nikko Circuit Fuji Speedway (Shizuoka) and Minami Chiba; one-coin rides also at Nikko on its school days School day with rental S14/S15 and two tyres, shared sessionabout ¥83,000 all-in; the only drift rental day in Japan you can insure School place, car and two tyres. Optional crash cover: ¥2,000 waives repairs to ¥50,000, ¥4,000 to ¥100,000, ¥5,000 waives repair liability entirely. about ¥83,000 (US$519) per person Not stated on the pages we read English page, Japanese booking English page and an English-speaking instructor; the insurance terms are published in Japanese only The one operator in Japan selling crash cover; the ¥5,000 tier waives repair liability on their car
Toyota Mobilitas at Fuji Speedway Toyota 86 on studless tyres Fuji Speedway Drift Park Fuji Speedway, Shizuoka 20 minutes in an 86 on studless tyresevent-dated, first-come on the day The car and the session on an event date. ¥4,400 (US$28) per person International Driving Permit accepted English page, Japanese booking First-come on the day at the event Not published
Motorland Kijo (Y-STYLE) The venue’s own kei car on low-grip tyres, licensed instructor beside you Motorland Kijo Kijo, Miyazaki (Kyushu) One-hour drift plan, six runs guaranteed, ages 13–90the cheapest hour at the wheel of a drifting car in Japan Car, instructor and the hour. A coached introduction, not a track day with your own build. ¥10,000 (US$63) per person None required Yes Activity Japan in English; bookings close 06:59 three days before; cancellation 50% the day before, 100% on the day Not published; you drive the venue’s car with an instructor
MR.HIRO DRIFT (near Osaka) Operator’s own drift car A private venue near Osaka that the operator does not disclose Ride-plus-drive packagecampaign price; listed at ¥110,000 Shuttle to the venue, a ride, then driving. The venue may be outside Osaka prefecture. ¥60,000 (US$375) per person Not stated on the pages we read Claimed by the operator Operator’s own site Its own terms state the service carries no insurance cover
Rusutsu Resort snow driving Resort’s cars on snow Winter only Rusutsu, Hokkaido (winter only) Snow driving course, 75 minutes Last season’s published rates; 2026–27 dates were not yet published when we checked. ¥55,500 (US$347) per person Not stated on the pages we read Yes Resort’s English winter-activities page Not published
Shin-Chitose Motorland snow rental drift Venue’s cars on snow and ice Winter only Chitose, Hokkaido (12 December to February) Snow rental drift, three lapsup to ¥16,500 for an hourSnow rental drift, one houran interpreter is a bookable option at ¥5,000 for up to two hours The car on the winter snow circuit. Ten minutes by taxi from JR Minami-Chitose, the stop before the airport. ¥2,200 (US$14) per person¥16,500 (US$103) per person Ordinary driving licence required Japanese only Telephone, in Japanese; interpreter bookable Not published

A car to yourself

One prepared car for you, or for your group, for a half day or a day. You drive; a briefing comes first; tuition is sometimes in, sometimes extra.

Operator Where What you get Published price Licence English How you book If you crash
The Sideways Experience (SidewaysX) Nissan 350Z, Toyota JZX100, a 1JZ-swapped 350Z Car hire: no bookings through the snow months. Hot laps run in winter too, though snow can close courses Ebisu Circuit Ebisu Circuit, Fukushima 350Z, half daythe “from ¥125,000” you see everywhere is this half day, not a day350Z, full day 09:00–16:00JZX100, half dayJZX100, full day1JZ-swapped 350Z, full day Car, briefing and a first session on Kuru Kuru Land; you move to the other courses once you can hold donuts and figure-eights. Not included: circuit entry (¥3,000 driver pass, ¥2,200 passenger), tuition, extra tyres at ¥11,000 each, a second driver at ¥10,000. ¥125,000 (US$781) per car¥175,000 (US$1,094) per car¥175,000 (US$1,094) per car¥225,000 (US$1,406) per car¥350,000 (US$2,188) per car Not stated on the pages we read Yes English web shop; hot-lap walk-ins are possible, but they ask you to message first. Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association also resells the hot laps as a request booking: 10 days ahead, 10:00 or 14:00, not on Wednesdays Refundable damage deposit of ¥200,000 for Touge, tandem or matsuri running; the tax position of the prices is not stated
Team Orange Turbocharged drift car (the team is a D1GP outfit) Ebisu Circuit Ebisu Circuit, Fukushima Drift experience day: car, circuit hire, tuition, four tyres and a full tankpublished in English; competitors at the same circuit charge ¥225,000–520,000 with two tyres and the track fee extra Car, circuit hire, tuition, four tyres, fuel. Whether the price includes tax is not stated. ¥130,000 (US$813) per day Not stated on the pages we read Yes Direct, in English, from the team’s own page Not published
Japan Drift Rentals Prepared drift cars (arrive-and-drive) Ebisu Circuit Ebisu Circuit, Fukushima Arrive-and-drive day+10% tax, so ¥275,000 as paid Arrive-and-drive package; inclusions as on its own page. ¥250,000 (US$1,563) per day Not stated on the pages we read Yes Its own English-facing site Publishes a damage range of ¥20,000 to ¥350,000 and above, billed to you
Minami Chiba Circuit (the circuit’s own EX hour) Mazda Roadster (NA), instructor beside you Minami Chiba Circuit Minami Chiba Circuit, Ichihara, Chiba School rental Roadster for EX graduates¥70,000–90,000 Car, fuel, tyres and track time for the hour. The circuit is 1.5 hours from Tokyo and hard to reach without a car. ¥70,000 (US$438) per session None required Japanese only Japanese-only web booking on the circuit’s reservation site (member registration first) Not published on the pages we readThe ¥16,000–18,000 figure quoted across the English internet is the old price. The current page says ¥45,000–50,000.
T-SPEC (Narita) Two JZX100 Chaser Tourer V 5-speeds Narita, Chiba (car hire; the circuit is your call) JZX100 Chaser, one driverJZX100 Chaser, shared The car. Less than half what Ebisu’s English-facing operators charge for the same chassis family. ¥100,000 (US$625) per day¥160,000 (US$1,000) per day Not stated on the pages we read Japanese only Telephone, in Japanese: the site has not been updated since 2020, so confirm the cars still exist before planning around them Not published
Hokkoringo (organiser slide days) Mazda Roadster NA8C, fuel included Tsukuba Circuit gymkhana course, Ibaraki, on the organiser’s dates Roadster for the dayplus ¥15,500 entry; bring your own helmet; crash damage billed at cost The car and fuel on the organiser’s slide day. Not included: the ¥15,500 entry, helmet. ¥48,000 (US$300) per day Not stated on the pages we read Japanese only Through the organiser, in Japanese, for its dated days Crash damage billed at cost
k-dori (Kobe) Nissan Laurel C33, S13 Silvia (SR20DET), 1JZ-powered SIL80 Does not operate in summer; was taking bookings from late September onwards when we checked Bihoku Highland Circuit, Suzuka Twin Circuit, YZ Circuit East Bihoku Highland (Okayama), Suzuka Twin (Mie), Tokushima Kartland, YZ Circuit East (Gifu) C33 Laurel, all-in dayS13 Silvia, all-in daythe operator’s own pick for beginners1JZ SIL80, all-in dayexperienced drivers onlyShare one car between up to three peopleadded to the car price Tyres, fuel, transport to the circuit and circuit entry, for the whole running day (08:30–16:00 at Bihoku, six 50-minute brackets at Suzuka Twin). ¥350,000 (US$2,188) per car per day¥380,000 (US$2,375) per car per day¥420,000 (US$2,625) per car per day¥50,000 (US$313) per car Not stated on the pages we read Yes English website; weekdays at Bihoku and Tokushima, other days subject to availability at Suzuka Twin Refundable damage deposit of ¥300,000 or A$3,000 due at least a week before

Ride along

You sit in. No licence, no car, and the cheapest way to feel a Japanese drift car from the inside.

Operator Where What you get Published price Licence English How you book If you crash
The Sideways Experience (SidewaysX) Nissan 350Z, Toyota JZX100, a 1JZ-swapped 350Z Car hire: no bookings through the snow months. Hot laps run in winter too, though snow can close courses Ebisu Circuit Ebisu Circuit, Fukushima Hot Lap Experience, minimum 3 laps as a passengerplus ¥2,200 per passenger paid at Ebisu’s gate (¥1,700 entry and the compulsory ¥500 insurance); walk-ins possible, but they ask you to message first; runs in winter too, though snow can close courses Car, briefing and a first session on Kuru Kuru Land; you move to the other courses once you can hold donuts and figure-eights. Not included: circuit entry (¥3,000 driver pass, ¥2,200 passenger), tuition, extra tyres at ¥11,000 each, a second driver at ¥10,000. ¥25,000 (US$156) per person Not stated on the pages we read Yes English web shop; hot-lap walk-ins are possible, but they ask you to message first. Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association also resells the hot laps as a request booking: 10 days ahead, 10:00 or 14:00, not on Wednesdays Refundable damage deposit of ¥200,000 for Touge, tandem or matsuri running; the tax position of the prices is not stated
Ebisu Circuit Drift Taxi (sold through Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association) Instructor-driven drift car, up to three passengers April to November; no rides December to March (snow) Ebisu Circuit Ebisu Circuit, Fukushima 45-minute Drift Taxi, three courses, up to three people in one carrequest only, confirmed by the operator; slots at 9:00, 11:00 and 14:00 on the dates the booking page opens; helmet included; ¥500 per person insurance not included; minimum height 140 cm; run in basic EnglishTaxi shuttle from Fukushima Station, 1–3 people, booked with the rideleaves the west exit one hour before the start; ¥27,650 for 4–8 people The car, the driver, 45 minutes over three courses and helmet hire. Not included: insurance at ¥500 per person; the booking page does not say where it is paid. ¥50,000 (US$313) per car÷3 = ¥16,667 each¥18,350 (US$115) per booking None required Yes In English through Fukushima Prefecture’s tourism association, which passes each request to the circuit. Every booking is a request the operator must confirm; requests close at 17:00 Japan time ten days before the ride. Cancellation is free until 17:00 five days before, 50% until 17:00 two days before, 100% after You are a passenger; the ¥500 per-person insurance is on top of the priceRunning in 2026, checked 29 September 2026: requests were open for 15–18, 20, 22–25, 27 and 29–31 October and 1, 12, 13, 17 and 19–21 November 2026; for 2027 only 27 April had opened. The circuit’s own drift-taxi page still shows a January 2025 “temporarily closed” notice and takes no bookings; that page is out of date, and its price and pay-on-the-day terms no longer apply.
Tokyo hotel-pickup packages (Matenro Drift Racing and similar) Operator’s own drift car; a Nissan 350Z is common on the ride-along packages Minami Chiba Circuit Picked up in Tokyo, driven to a Chiba circuit (usually Minami Chiba) Ride-along package with hotel pickup Transport from Tokyo and the day at the circuit; read the inclusions, because many listings are ride-along only and usually non-refundable. ¥79,800 (US$499) per person None required Yes GetYourGuide, Klook, Viator, Rakuten or the operator’s own English shop Not published on the listings we readThere is no drift circuit in Tokyo. Every “Tokyo drift experience” is transport to Chiba, Fukushima or Shizuoka, a night cruise with no drifting, or a radio-controlled car.
HYPER DRIVE SCHOOL Rental S14 / S15 for the school place Fuji Speedway Drift Park, Minami Chiba Circuit, Nikko Circuit Fuji Speedway (Shizuoka) and Minami Chiba; one-coin rides also at Nikko on its school days One-coin passenger ride on a school day, no reservationplus the ¥1,200 Fuji gate; cash at Nikko School place, car and two tyres. Optional crash cover: ¥2,000 waives repairs to ¥50,000, ¥4,000 to ¥100,000, ¥5,000 waives repair liability entirely. ¥500 (US$3) per person Not stated on the pages we read English page, Japanese booking English page and an English-speaking instructor; the insurance terms are published in Japanese only The one operator in Japan selling crash cover; the ¥5,000 tier waives repair liability on their car
Rusutsu Resort snow driving Resort’s cars on snow Winter only Rusutsu, Hokkaido (winter only) Snow drift ride-along, 4 minutes Last season’s published rates; 2026–27 dates were not yet published when we checked. ¥16,500 (US$103) per person Not stated on the pages we read Yes Resort’s English winter-activities page Not published
Mobara Twin Circuit ride-along right Any entrant willing to take you Mobara Twin Circuit Mobara Twin Circuit, Chiba, on its drift days 同乗走行 add-on on a circuit drift daypaid on the day; buys the right to sit in, not a specific car The right to ride; you still need a driver. Reachable by city bus from Mobara Station. ¥1,500 (US$9) per person None required Japanese only On the day, in Japanese Not published
Tsukuruma Circuit Nasu passenger ride A running entrant’s car Tsukuruma Circuit Nasu Tsukuruma Circuit, Tochigi Passenger ridecash only; the passenger needs the same helmet and kit as the driver The seat. Kit is yours to bring. ¥500 (US$3) per person None required Japanese only On the day, in Japanese Not published
Owara Circuit drift passenger ride Circuit-arranged drift car Owara Circuit Owara Circuit, Toyama Drift passenger ride, one seat, entry includedno age limit; booked two days ahead Entry to the site and the ride. ¥2,500 (US$16) per person None required Japanese only Two days ahead, in Japanese Not published

The price ladder

Every published figure on this page in one line each, cheapest first. Read the unit: some are per person, some per car, and the per-car ones split three ways.

Sitting in

¥500US$3 One-coin passenger ride on a school day, no reservationHYPER DRIVE SCHOOL · per person
¥500US$3 Passenger rideTsukuruma Circuit Nasu passenger ride · per person
¥1,500US$9 同乗走行 add-on on a circuit drift dayMobara Twin Circuit ride-along right · per person
¥2,500US$16 Drift passenger ride, one seat, entry includedOwara Circuit drift passenger ride · per person
¥16,500US$103 Snow drift ride-along, 4 minutesRusutsu Resort snow driving · per person
¥25,000US$156 Hot Lap Experience, minimum 3 laps as a passengerThe Sideways Experience · per person
¥50,000US$313 45-minute Drift Taxi, three courses, up to three people in one carEbisu Circuit Drift Taxi · per car · ¥16,667 each for three
¥79,800US$499 Ride-along package with hotel pickupTokyo hotel-pickup packages · per person

At the wheel

¥2,200US$14 Snow rental drift, three lapsShin-Chitose Motorland snow rental drift · per person · coached
¥4,400US$28 20 minutes in an 86 on studless tyresToyota Mobilitas at Fuji Speedway · per person · coached
¥10,000US$63 One-hour drift plan, six runs guaranteed, ages 13–90Motorland Kijo · per person · coached
¥16,500US$103 Snow rental drift, one hourShin-Chitose Motorland snow rental drift · per person · coached
¥45,000US$281 “Drift Experience EX”: one all-in coached hourMinami Chiba Circuit · per person · coached
¥48,000US$300 Roadster for the dayHokkoringo · per day · car to yourself
¥50,000US$313 Tuition dayThe Sideways Experience · per day · coached
¥50,000US$313 EX, weekend or public holidayMinami Chiba Circuit · per person · coached
¥55,500US$347 Snow driving course, 75 minutesRusutsu Resort snow driving · per person · coached
¥60,000US$375 Ride and Drive: 3 passenger laps, then 3 × 10 min at the wheel of a 350Z with an instructorThe Sideways Experience · per person · coached
¥60,000US$375 Ride-plus-drive packageMR.HIRO DRIFT · per person · coached
¥70,000US$438 School rental Roadster for EX graduatesMinami Chiba Circuit · per session · car to yourself
~¥83,000US$519 School day with rental S14/S15 and two tyres, shared sessionHYPER DRIVE SCHOOL · per person · coached
¥100,000US$625 JZX100 Chaser, one driverT-SPEC · per day · car to yourself
¥109,999US$687 Circuit day packageTokyo hotel-pickup packages · per person · coached
¥125,000US$781 350Z, half dayThe Sideways Experience · per car · car to yourself
¥130,000US$813 Drift experience day: car, circuit hire, tuition, four tyres and a full tankTeam Orange · per day · car to yourself
¥160,000US$1,000 JZX100 Chaser, sharedT-SPEC · per day · car to yourself
¥175,000US$1,094 350Z, full day 09:00–16:00The Sideways Experience · per car · car to yourself
¥175,000US$1,094 JZX100, half dayThe Sideways Experience · per car · car to yourself
¥199,800US$1,249 Matenro private drift lesson with Tokyo pickupTokyo hotel-pickup packages · per person · coached
¥225,000US$1,406 JZX100, full dayThe Sideways Experience · per car · car to yourself
¥250,000US$1,563 Arrive-and-drive dayJapan Drift Rentals · per day · car to yourself
¥350,000US$2,188 1JZ-swapped 350Z, full dayThe Sideways Experience · per car · car to yourself
¥350,000US$2,188 C33 Laurel, all-in dayk-dori · per car per day · car to yourself
¥380,000US$2,375 S13 Silvia, all-in dayk-dori · per car per day · car to yourself
¥420,000US$2,625 1JZ SIL80, all-in dayk-dori · per car per day · car to yourself

Tax is the trap in this ladder: Japan Drift Rentals quotes ¥250,000 plus 10%, Matenro states tax included, SidewaysX and Team Orange say nothing either way. Circuit entry is usually extra at Ebisu (¥3,000 driver, ¥2,200 passenger) and is included in k-dori’s and Team Orange’s figures.

By circuit

What nobody rents

Questions visitors ask

How much does it cost to rent a drift car in Japan?

Published rates in September 2026 run from ¥48,000 (about US$300) for a lightly prepared Roadster on an organiser’s day at Tsukuba, plus ¥15,500 entry, to ¥420,000 for k-dori’s 1JZ SIL80 with tyres, fuel, transport and circuit entry included. The clearest value for a car to yourself is Team Orange at Ebisu: ¥130,000 a day including the car, circuit hire, tuition, four tyres and fuel. The cheapest hour at the wheel of a drifting car is ¥10,000 at Motorland Kijo in Miyazaki, in the venue’s own kei car with an instructor.

Do you need a driving licence to rent a drift car in Japan?

Not always. A closed private course is not a public road, so Minami Chiba Circuit states you can take its EX hour without a driving licence, Matenro says no licence or International Driving Permit is needed for its lessons, and Motorland Kijo takes drivers from age 13 in its own kei car. Other operators do require an ordinary licence, and several do not say on their pages; where a page is silent we write “not stated” rather than guess.

What happens if you crash a rented drift car in Japan?

In almost every case you pay for the repairs with no upper limit. Japan Drift Rentals publishes a damage range of ¥20,000 to ¥350,000 and above; k-dori takes a refundable ¥300,000 deposit; Hokkoringo bills damage at cost. The single exception we found is HYPER DRIVE SCHOOL, which sells optional cover at ¥2,000, ¥4,000 or ¥5,000, with the ¥5,000 tier waiving repair liability on its car entirely.

Can you rent an AE86 in Japan?

Not to drive. Two separate searches in September 2026 found no operator anywhere in Japan renting an AE86 for self-drive, and one operator’s AE86 is listed as out of service. You can ride in one as a passenger for about ¥2,500. The cars actually on offer are JZX100 Chasers and Cresta/Mark II siblings, S13, S14 and S15 Silvias, a 1JZ SIL80, Laurels, 350Zs and Roadsters.

Is there a drift experience in Tokyo?

Not on a circuit: there is no drift track in Tokyo or Kanagawa. Every product sold as a Tokyo drift experience is one of three things: a hotel pickup and a drive to a circuit in Chiba (usually Minami Chiba, 1.5 hours away), Fukushima or Shizuoka; a night cruise on public expressways that contains no drifting; or a radio-controlled car. Read the venue line before you pay, and check whether you drive or only ride.

追走 · TSUISO DESK

Tell us your dates and the car you want

Dates, your level, the chassis you have in mind, and whether anyone is riding along. We reply with what is genuinely bookable on those dates and one all-in figure for the day.

  • Freeno commitment
  • In Japanwe are here, not a reseller
  • ~1 minto fill in
  • Englishor Japanese
Add dates or a budget (optional)

Read next: who pays for crashes, in detail · every way to ride or drive without a car, by prefecture · what a drift day really costs · what licence you need · every drift track in Japan · the event calendar

Each row is read from the operator’s own page on the date shown in our data; the page as a whole was last checked 28 Sept 2026. If an operator has changed a price, tell us and we fix the row.